Best Western Aida Opera Hotel

, Paris, France
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Paris

Best Western Aida Opera Hotel

, Paris
3 star

Rooms: 58

11 Rue Richer - Paris - 75009 - France Hotel Website | | 01.45.23.11.11
332 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Aida Opera Hotel

9/10
Lovely compact hotel
Submitted by: Joan in 04/04/08
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: Ireland
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
This hotel was lovely as it was quiet but 500m from Gare de Nord. Decor was original and the hotel was homely and welcoming. So different from all usual chain hotels.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Aida Opera Hotel

Great!

from foreard
We arrived in Paris during the metro strike, and found the hotel to be a walkable distance from both the Roissy bus stop and Gar du Norde train station. I was nervous, having booked the hotel on-line, but it really was great! The room was new, the water pressure was strong, the room clean, and the staff very friendly. Our bed was huge. They provided us with a non-electronic key (after leaving a deposit) for Shabbat. They also allowed us to store our luggage in the baggage room after we checked out. The room comes with shampoo (no conditioner), soap, a hairdryer, fridge, electric hot water kettle, teas and coffee, oh, and a television with many channels (if you're interested in that). Wonderful, I would definitely recommend it!
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your comments. Your positive feedback encourages us to improve our services.
Our team look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Paris.
Thank you for choosing Best Western Aida Opéra.

Good bargain hotel in Paris

from Max_Bougriy
We stayed for four nights in a Supeiour room that was booked several months in advance. Hence, we were able to book the room at a promotional price.

If you are determined to make a good holiday tour of Paris, including museum visits, you would probably need the hotel just to have some rest at night. We took breakfast outside, or sometimes just used the cereals bought in one of the two supermarkets at neighboring streets. The hotel staff was helpful and patient to help me with the proper usage of French. Of course, they spoke English when it was needed, and one employee Christian even spoke Russian.

The room was very clean. WiFi connection was provided at EUR 5.00 for 45 minutes - enough to check emails and news sites. The hotel had a good package of satellite TV channels. The room has a cattle to boil water and have tea.

Metro station Grands Boulevards is accessible with probably 15 minutes walk. For dinner I would recommend Leon de Bruxelles restaurant on Boulevard des Italiennes and Hippopotamus - both close to Grands Boulevards.

That said, the accommodation was 'tight' meaning that the facilities were rather small, especially the bathroom that had a shower, but not a bath tub. Some hotels of the same chain were at a closer distance to the Metro station.

Overall, I would call this hotel a good bargain for a touristic stay in Paris.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our hotel has rooms with shower and other rooms with bathtub. If you expect to have a bath during your stay, please mention it when you book the room. We'll do our best to satisfy your needs.
Thank you for choosing Best Western Hotel Aida Opéra.

Worked just fine for me

from Becs7
Although I have traveled in Europe before, this was my first trip to Paris.

I booked a single room and was not surprised that the room was small, although I had a double bed and plenty of wardrobe space.

The bathroom was extremely small, but do-able for someone of my height (5'5"). I think anyone taller than that might have had difficulties.

Breakfast was included with the room, but why not go out, grab a pain au chocolat and have an espresso?

The area bustled constantly. The mobilettes were annoying, but I had earplugs.

There's an internet cafe just a couple of blocks down if you can't live without email. Very reasonably priced.

All in all, I thought it was a good value.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your comments. Our team does it utmost to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for choosing Best Western Aida Opéra.
Best regards.

Good hotel, nothing to write home about

from Christophius1
For what it was, I thought the hotel was nice. Traveling for tourist purposes, I basically just slept there each night and left shortly after waking. The hotel staff were friendly, with some unsure of their English skills but willing to make a go of it for you anyway. The only complaint I have is that my room on the top floor became hot very easily, so I had to leave the window open.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments about your stay at Best Western Aida Opéra. Please note that all rooms are equiped with air conditioning.
Our team look forward to welcoming you again.

Very Nice Hotel

from MikenLilly
After searching this sight for a nice fairly priced hotel we found this one and booked it. It is on a very "French" street and we had a great view of Parisian life from our balcany. The room was clean, comfortable and large enough for the four of us. We were close to the subways and the train station. The staff was nice and answered our many questions with patience. I honestly don't understand some of the bad reviews. This hotel is nice by any countries standards and people need to realize that when you are in France, the television, signs, language and customs are ...French. So enjoy it and be thankful.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your comments. Your positive feedback encourages us to improve our services.
Our team look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Paris.
Thank you for choosing Best Western Aida Opéra.

Good overall

from T-Maxster
This little hotel is on Rue Richer, which is full of Jewish shops and the Folies Bergere, if these interest you. Our room was medium-sized and very clean, seems to be newly decorated, with a new flat-screen TV of a decent size. Breakfast was good by French standards. Be prepared to walk 15 minutes from Gare Du Nord or the Opera (where the airport Roissybus stops) as taxi drivers often do not accept short-distance fares!!! Staff were very friendly. My only complaint was the noise from the small fridge beside the bed. You should bring earplugs if this would bother you and you are a light sleeper -- you might also need them for the Vespa scooters and garbage trucks passing by at all hours. Paris always has busy and noisy traffic so you will not escape the noise in other hotels either.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We continually improve the quality and pieceful in the rooms. We will be more than pleased to welcome you again at Best Western Aida Opera.

Good Deal and Fine Hotel, Even by American Standards

from sg4878
I stayed at the Aida for 4 nights and really do not understand some of the negative comments about it. Perhaps I lucked out, or perhaps I am used to European hotels more than most Americans, but my stay was great. My partner and I had reserved a double; we got a room with what appeared to be at least a queen-sized bed. There was plenty of room to move about and all the amenities you would expect. The room was also very secure (it was also on the 3rd floor). By European standards, our room was very large. The bathroom was also very large - larger than most American hotel bathrooms. The tub was huge - we both fit in it!
If you are an American and are reticent to try a mid-priced European hotel or chain, choose this one - you shouldn't be disappointed with the American-style rooms and believe me, the size of the rooms. Compared to most hotels I've stayed in throughout Europe, the Aida's rooms are the largest. Though I am a native French-speaker, my partner is not and had no problem communicating when I wasn't around. The location is central, although not particularly desirable aesthetically. At night, the Grands Boulevards (particularly Bonne Nouvelle) aren't the safest, but then again, most streets at night in major cities aren't. I would definitely stay again next time I'm in Paris.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Best Western Aida Opéra. Feedback from valued guests like you encourages us to improve our services.
Our team look forward to welcoming you again.

OK

from Winniefan
Our double standard ensuite room was small but clean and had all you needed. The girl at the desk did what she had to but appeared to have limited English (or not being very forth coming) The young guy in the evening seemed to be forever run off his feet (or disorganised) The location was about a 10 min walk to the underground or closer to buses. Breakfast was OK _ but not great you freshly squeezed your own juice in a machine which was great. You paid extra for a cooked breakfast so just enjoyed the croisannts etc. Coffee -
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion.
We will be pleased to welcome you again at Best Western Hotel Aida Opéra.

Good Hotel

from Jim-Mey
We stayed in the BW Aida Opera in July for 5 days. It’s a decent hotel. Room was nice and big for us (2 Adult / 2 Kids). Air conditioner worked good, which was a huge plus for us because the heat outside was brutal. Maid service was great. Beds are comfortable and clean. Neighborhood was OK. The hotel is hard to find, so I would suggest having a good map before arriving. It’s actually a good 15 minute walk to the Opera from the Hotel. We selected the hotel because it has a nice family room. That worked out great. The only problem we had was with the front desk. There was a young woman (20s) that worked there that was not very friendly. If you asked her for something, she usually said no. We wanted tickets to Disney and she told us to buy them at the rail station, even though they advertised the fact that they sold them there. An older woman (maybe in her 40s) was nice and got us anything we wanted. The man working at the front desk at night was also pretty cool – even though he was easily overloaded with task. He was actually funny about it. Overall, I like Paris. My wife and kids were less enthusiastic about Paris and the people. The hotel was close to the Hard Rock, which the kids liked. Check out from the hotel was good. They got us a taxi in the morning for the airport that had a set rate of 70 Euros for 4 people. That worked out OK.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay at Best Western Aida Opéra. Your remarks help us to improve our services. We will always be pleased to welcome you.
Warmest regards.

Location and service let Aida down

from A TripAdvisor Member
We liked the hotel room - spacious and clean. The only really silly thing was the doll's teaset size of the cups provided with tea and coffee-making facilities. The Continental breakfast was generous, varied and yummy. The drawback is that the hotel is not very close to the Metro, the hotel provides a terrible map and the walking distances are cumulatively quite tiring, especially if you're wearing yourself out anyway at museums.

Our greatest disappointment though was on our last day when we tried to call a taxi from the hotel to the local Gare du Nord. The woman at the counter said we couldn't phone the taxi earlier than 10 minutes before we wanted it. She did this for us but when the taxi didn't arrive she was unconcerned, unsympathetic and unhelpful. As we had a deadline at the airport we reached a point where we just had to walk the distance, lugging our 28 kilos of luggage each as best we could.

Next time we'd go somewhere close to a metro station and closer to the right or left bank.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
we are sorry that your expectations were not entirely fulfilled. Do not hesistate to ask to arrange things like the change of cups. In Paris taxis can be very difficult to hire on certains days. We do apologize for this experience and hope to seeing you soon.

Top Local Tips for Paris

Be Sweet, Speak French The French reputation is way off the mark. Think about it. If someone came to your boutique, or cafe, or stopped you in the street and began speaking to you in a foreign language - how helpful would you be? All I knew how to say was "hello", "thank you" and "I don't speak French". And with that, the Parisians were really amazing. They will go out of their way to help you, and with a smile. In regards to anti-semetism, my husband was told not to look overtly Jewish when in Paris. He wore his kippa, no problem and even went to shul with his streimel on, and the worst he got was a little 5 year old girl who's jaw dropped open. Parisians are wonderful, amicable people. If you keep kosher, don't go to the pizza/pasta/crepe place down the street from the hotel, it was just awful. Check out "123cacher.com" before you leave - Paris may even have more kosher places to eat than New York - there is even Mexican! Bring a map - it's easy to get turned around. Enjoy!

Be Sweet, Speak French The French reputation is way off the mark. Think about it. If someone came to your boutique, or cafe, or stopped you in the street and began speaking to you in a foreign language - how helpful would you be? All I knew how to say was "hello", "thank you" and "I don't speak French". And with that, the Parisians were really amazing. They will go out of their way to help you, and with a smile. In regards to anti-semetism, my husband was told not to look overtly Jewish when in Paris. He wore his kippa, no problem and even went to shul with his streimel on, and the worst he got was a little 5 year old girl who's jaw dropped open. Parisians are wonderful, amicable people. If you keep kosher, don't go to the pizza/pasta/crepe place down the street from the hotel, it was just awful. Check out "123cacher.com" before you leave - Paris may even have more kosher places to eat than New York - there is even Mexican! Bring a map - it's easy to get turned around. Enjoy!

Walkie Talkie! In reality, Paris is not that massive a city and it really is possible to get around a lot of it by foot (if you don't have any significant physical problems) which is an excellent way of really feeling the city and seeing all sorts of little things that would otherwise be missed. This is especially true if you are visiting Paris as a couple. It's a lovely experience to just stroll around the streets together - walking and talking. All you need is each other, comfy shoes and (very very important) a well used street map. Ours is now falling apart so we will be getting out the sticky tape before our next visit.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Best Western Aida Opera Hotel

  • best western paris
  • best western hotel paris
  • Address: 11 Rue Richer - Paris - 75009 - France
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
7.0/10

See All 332 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Best Western Aida Opera Hotel