Best Western Aida Marais Hotel

, Paris, France
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Paris

Best Western Aida Marais Hotel

, Paris
3 star

Rooms: 51

19 Rue du Château d'Eau - Paris - 75010 - France Hotel Website | | +33 1 42 01 84 20
278 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Aida Marais Hotel

Warm, Friendly and Fabulous
Submitted by: Carmel Johnson in 12/02/08
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
I disagreed with previous reviews of this hotel, its has recently been refurbished and therefore I do not think any previous comments made about it stand for much any more.

The hotel was freshly decorated, the staff were friendly and the location was great, far enough out of town to not be caught up in the main city life but not too far to gain access to any of the tourist attractions.

We didn't have the breakfast there, but you can find somewhere that sells pastries etc near by and the metro is fabulous for getting around anywhere in the city.

I recommend this hotel for anyone that isn't looking for an exclusive deluxe room and just for a comfy stay in Paris for a reasonable price.
Submitted by: Karen in 21/11/06
  • Age Group:
  • From:
  • Traveller type: Weekend Breaker
My friend and I stayed at this hotel as part of a special deal with Eurostar. While we did get a good rate, the value for money was extremely poor. The hotel was undergoing a renovation (there was no mention of this when we booked) and as a result there were holes in the ceiling, dust everywhere and general mess. Our room was tiny, dingy and the amenities were a kettle, a rubbish packet of coffe and some flimsy plastic cups. This certainly isn't my idea of 3 star!! The really annoying thing though is the expense of all the extras. When we checked in, we were told that breakfast would be served in the basement. What we weren't told was that breakfast wasn't included in the rate and it was an incredible TWELVE EUROS (which we only found out when we checked out)!! This may be reasonable if it was a large, elaborate spread, but all we got was some bread, a few small pastries, eggs that we had to boil ourselves and orange juice we had to squeeze ourselves - worth about one Euro, not twelve. My friend got sick and was in desperate need of something to drink - all the shops were shut around us, so we were forced to buy from the hotel front desk and a coke cost THREE EUROS! I feel with all the construction work going on they should have thrown in breakfast for free, but even if they didn't, they should have made the cost clear. This is yet another example of rip-off Paris, and I recommend travellers stay well clear of the Hotel Aida Marais.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Aida Marais Hotel

Lovely Little Hotel

from danmcha21
Fabulous little hotel short metro ride from all the attractions.

Room cosy, clean and comfortable, staff lovely and very helfpful.

Patisserie next door lovely alternative for people up early and on the move.

Perfect for those that just need a place to stay on a busy city break.

would not reccomend for those planning on spending a lot of time at the hotel.
Management Response from Sarah_Mayer
"Dear guest,
we appreciate your opinion about Best Western Hotel Aida Marais. We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Paris. "
Best regards

NIce - Best buy for the money-not luxury but not a dump.

from jaguar0k
Yes rooms are small, but after sightseeing - what do you want to do more than sleep ? Flat screen TV - Large tub/shower- coffee maker in room - breakfast was light but well worth (it's FREE) Down comforters. Staff VERY friendly - we noticed some painting started and not finished in some areas of hotel but overall I would stay here again. It's in the heart of Paris within walking distance to dozens of cafes, grocery store, bar, shops, etc. (apartments accross the street sell for over 300,000 euro's) 2 blocks from Park/school/metro. This street was dark but never felt at danger - in fact we saw school children walking, riding down street alone. I will stay again when I go back. They don't supply wash cloths - take your own.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay, and for your information wash cloths are available on request at the reception, without extra charge.
Thank you for choosing Best Western Hotel Aida Marais.

A little gem of a hotel

from Jim_from_UK_8
Stayed there in Nov 2005 (for the 2nd time), and would recommend it to anyone working on a reasonable budget. The rooms are a little small (typical Paris) but adequate and above all CLEAN (room and bathroom cleaned every day). Bathroom was spotless and although no window, had an extractor for clearing steam from bath and shower.
Area is quiet and no problems with noise at all.
Breakfast in the cellar is one of the main reasons for returning there, this is EXCELLENT. It may be only a buffet but a very good choice of cold meats, croissants, bread, pastires, cheese, yoghurts, fruit, eggs, toast etc and return as many times as you like so a good way to fill up before embarking on the day's outing.
Staff on reception (24hrs a day) were always very friendly and helpful, spoke excellent English and were allowed to leave suitcases there on final day until ready to leave for the airport.
Republique metro station very short walk away, as well as shops, supermarkets and restaurants all within the local area.
Can't understand some of the other reviews on this site, you won't be disappointed, believe me !
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. Feedbacks from valued guests like you encourages us to continually improve our services.
Thank you for choosing Best Western Hotel Aida Marais.

Adequate but a bit sketchy....

from goodeboi
I booked this hotel because I wanted to stay in Le Marais, which is a gay area in Paris. BEWARE!!!! This place is not in the heart of Le Marais...if at all. It was a 5 minute taxi ride to Le Marais, which is home to tons of restaurants, shops, and clubs/bars. This becomes a problem when stumbling out of a club in the late night hour and trying to find a taxi back to the hotel. The hotel itself was just ok. The room was clean. The front desk clerks spoke english and were friendly. The room had a 19" flat screen television that was mounted to a wall (think hospital room). The water pressure in the room as well as the room temperature were both fine. There were two other negatives about the hotel that I must note. The first was we had to change rooms very early in the morning because the hotel was renovating the air conditioning. The second negative was the location. The hotel is on a very dark and deserted block and the immediate surrounding areas consisted of various African hair braiding shops. WHile there were a couple of cafes and bistros on the block (Chateau D'Eau) we had to walk to Republic Square or further down toward Le Marais for food. All in all...the hotel was just ok. It served our purposes as we were only there for a couple days.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
we appreciate your comment about your stay at Best Western Aida Marais. We are sorry for the disturbances due to the renovation of the air conditioning.
We will be pleased to welcome you upon your next trip to Paris.

Very average

from TravellerinParis
I was given a room with a view on the internal hall of the hotel. No window in the bathroom: results, no windows at all with fresh air!!
Breakfast is nothing special and not absolutely worthwhile the 12 € they ask for. Besides, there's a nice boulangerie just next door to the hotel!!
The guy at the reception desk was not at all organised and left the reception desk unattended for almost ten minutes, with telephone ringing and guests waiting outside to access the hotel.Me? I was unfortunately there waiting for the guy to come back and give me my room-key while he went upstairs to hel other guests. What about hiring more personnel?
Management Response from MNGBWAM
Thank you for writing your review.
I am sorry for the inconvience that you have expericened at the hotel.
The night receptionist is by himself and if he left the reception unattended it is to help other guest in a room.
Regarding to our breakfast, for 12€ you have a full buffet breakfast, pastries, fruit salad, cheese, yougurts, fresh pressed orange juice, eggs ..
Thank you again

Clean and comfortable - would return.

from UKTraveller1988
After reading the most recent reviews of this Hotel, we decided to book for 3 nights. The room was a little small, but adequate with a nice clean ensuite and tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was at the front of the hotel and even with the window closed, it could be a little noisy – even though the hotel wasn’t on a main road. The corridors felt claustrophobic, being so narrow.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had the buffet breakfast each day. This consisted of Croissants, Bread, cereal, fresh orange juice (which we had to squeeze ourselves), tinned fruit, yoghurt and boiled eggs but we found the cost of the breakfast was a bit expensive for what we got – but then we found Paris quite expensive generally.
Overall, the Hotel was clean, comfortable and close enough to a choice of 2 Metro stations to be able to get to all the tourist attractions.
Yes, we would return (better the devil you know!)
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
thank you your comments on Tripadvisor.
Our team at Best Western Aida Marais will be pleased to welcome you upon your next trip to Paris.

Not bad - but not great.

from flambards
Stayed here in July with my three children, room was a tight squeeze with the double fold-out bed, but no more than I expected. Bit disappointed with the location of the room (ground floor with no view, only a window on to the indoor 'patio' area) and the room was a bit scruffy with chunks out of the wall, a big cobweb hanging from the ceiling (which was there the whole three days we stayed) and tiles missing from the bathroom walls. The air conditioning unit also leaked on to the floor, which was mentioned to the management, but as far as I could see nothing was done to fix it as it continued to leak the next day. Overall though, an OK experience, I guess you have to pay more to get more and the cleaners did do a good job every day, every thing was neatly done (except for that cobweb!) Good bakery next door!

not good at all

from sanman29
this was one rough place - not friendly- not clean --under repair-rough neighborhood- wineos all around every night- overall a very poor experience - no maps, no advise - i have stayed in small rooms before but this one was very small - if you are in the room all you want to do is leave and join the wineos outside.
not ever again for me
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are really sorry you had experienced disturbances during your stay with us. We will always be pleased to welcome you again.
Management Response from MNGBWAM
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for reviewing the hotel this really helps us. However we would like to know which room you stayed in, Paris is known for small rooms in general, but not at this hotel. The hotel has been entierly re decorated and renovated, in public areas as well as the rooms therefore we were surprised that you did not enjoy our patio, as well as the room. At the reception desk we have first of all a receptionist 24 hours a day helping you with questions on Paris and city maps in self service on the front desk.
We remain at your disposal at the hotels email adress, and we be happy to welcome you here again.
Best Regards Charlotte JENSEN

Enjoyable place and atmosphere

from Veltra
We have spend 3 days in this wonderfull place, I was a bit worried due to other reviews and pictures ! But it turned out wonderfull. We had a cosy room on the fifth floor with a little balcony, we had our breakfast here every morning, splendid !
The staff was helpfull and availble, the area is great, within walking distance to Bastille, Marais and Gare du Nord. I would return any time.
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. It is feedback from valued guests like you, which encourages us to continually improve our services.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Loved the Best Western in Paris!

from TravelingStudent14
The Best Western Aida Marais Printania in Paris, France is a lovely hotel within walking distance (15-20 minute walk) of all the big tourist attractions. There is also a metro stop not far away. The hotel was affordably priced and the rooms were comfortable, attractive and clean. A great value for the price. The neighborhood was quiet. All of the staff were most helpful - providing information about getting around the city, how to get to the airport etc.
I would stay there again!
Management Response from EiffelSegurMng
Dear guest,
we appreciate your opinion about Best Western Hotel Aida Marais. We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit in Paris.

Top Local Tips for Paris

If you can learn the subway (metro) It's only 1.50 per trip - the thing must go 100 mph,,,if you can read and understand the map (ask for one) you can get anywhere in town in about 10-15 mintues for 1.50 - crowded but very safe and fast. Get ready to walk throughy some mazes underground to get to right terminal but well worth it. We were scared the 1 st day, lost. Got used to it the 2nd day and by the 3rd way we had it mastered.

underground is excellent very well organized good service

Metro Get the book of 10 metro tickets if using the metro alot its great value!


Other names for Best Western Aida Marais Hotel

  • paris best western
  • best western paris
  • best western hotel paris
  • Address: 19 Rue du Château d'Eau - Paris - 75010 - France
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 278 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Best Western Aida Marais Hotel