Hotel Beau Rivage

, Nice, France
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Nice

Hotel Beau Rivage

, Nice
4 star

Rooms: 118

24 Rue St Francois De Paul - Nice - 06300 - France Hotel Website | | 4 92 47 82 82
505 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Beau Rivage

Location doesn't help this hotel!
Submitted by: Denise in 26/06/06
  • Age Group:
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Pleasure Seeker
We have been here for 2 days and to sum up our experience: I am dreading the next 2 days of our stay. This is the worst hotel we have stayed in during our trip here in France.

The staff has been rude and uncooperative and the hotel rooms themselves leave much to be desired. The walls are full of dents and scratches, the carpet is coming a part with stains (and bleach spots!) all over. The hotel boasts flat screen TVs but the speakers in our room don't work. We have tried both days of our stay to order breakfast in the room. The first day they "forgot" to pick up the menu on the door and the second day they didn't ever deliver the food. Of course both times we called the front desk and were treated rudely. Last night we asked to have a taxi waiting for us this morning so that we could make it to our 9 AM appointment and were told we should wait until the morning because it only takes 5 minutes. This morning we called for the taxi and were told that there aren't any available, we should have asked for one the night before!!! We missed our appointment. But don't worry the front desk called us 1 1/2 hours later to see if we still needed a taxi. A little late for the appointment, but that didn't seem to bother them.

The hotel boasts easy access to the beach with a private beach for hotel guests, but this is deceiving. The beach is open to anyone who pays and the only difference between being a guest and not is that guests get a 2 euro discount: 14 euros instead of 16.

My advice... Stay at a different hotel and just enjoy the public beaches or pay 2 euros more for a place at the hotel's beach. Trust me, your stay in Nice will be much more enjoyable if you walk a little more to get to the beach but have a hotel that has actually heard of customer service.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Beau Rivage

Great location, fantastic beds

from Fifilamue
Just recently returned from a 3-night break at the Beau Rivage. We booked a deluxe room and were on the side street on the 5th floor. We had no problems with noise and the size of the room was more than adequate. I was impressed with the electric black out blinds and together with the most comfortable bed and the quietest air conditioning - it all lended itself to a very comfortable nights sleep. No light crept in from the hallway either. I have to complement the housekeeping as well - I have never slept in hotel bed linen that didn't have that over laundered stiffness before. It was soft, smelt lovely and the pillows were a dream.

The look was very minimalistic and not charming, apart from the shutters, and the finishing was poor especially under the bathroom sink and the wires for the computers were all over the place. But the Villeroy Boch bath was a lovely deep treat and I didn't have to wrap my knees under my chin!

We loved the private beach. Really comfortable beds to lie on but it's a shame that hotel residents have to pay as much as someone walking in off the promenade (10 Euros). Worth it though! I was upset that I was stopped taking in a bottle of water though - had to pay 6 euros for the honour of buying a litre of Evian so sneaked my own in the next day!

Had problems with logging on to the internet (on the plasma tv) as the cap locks wouldn't turn off. After phoning the help desk in London and in turn them liaising with the hotel everything was sorted out. Great to be able to get emails without searching out a local internet cafe.

The location has to be one of the best - right on the edge of the old town with all its shops and restaurants and within easy walking distance of the port and the main shopping areas. I would go back here or at least to another hotel nearby depending on deals available at the time.

Chic and great location

from Queen_Anne_Drizzle
We paid $210 for our room.
Location - Excellent! Right next to Vieux Nice. 20 minute walk from the train station. Right on the street that borders the water.
Room - Modern and stylish. Clean. Creative. Spacious. decorative touches. Flat screen TV on the wall.
Service - No complaints
Overall, the best hotel we stayed at in France (we stayed in 5 different hotels and this was not the most expensive one either).


Great Location

from ShirleyIreland
Just returned from a 4 night break at the Beau Rivage. Stayed there after reading reviews here and must say they were very accurate. The hotel itself is minimalist, but very functional and well thought out. Though the rooms are small this is common in Europe, the bed was VERY comfortable as were the pillows, quilt etc. The reception staff were, as another reviewer pointed out, "surly" which I think is such a shame as it shows poor management.
We didn't have breakfast, again thanks to the advice of reviewers here, but there are lots of fabulous places to have breakfast in town.
The best thing about this hotel is its location, it is just beside the Old Town and on the Promenade (but away from the hectic side of it). If you can swing the extra few Euro, then a superior room with a sea view and balcony would make a lovely treat.

Long on location but short on charm.

from Underhill
We had looked forward to our stay at the Beau Rivage but were quite disappointed in the hotel aside from its excellent location. The Beau Rivage feels like a modern German hotel in terms of design and lack of color, strange for something in the middle of the Côte d'Azur's brilliance. For that matter, the hotel could be anywhere in the world; there is nothing distinctively French about it at all. The halls are uniformly grey and drab, and our rooms were just plain gloomy. I say "rooms" because we had to change after the first night due to the considerable street noise at the front of the hotel; our room on a side street was much quieter.

As far as I could tell from a quick look, the rooms facing the courtyard are much to be preferred; they seemed to have the amenities pushed on the hotel's web site (rolling shades, large bathrooms) that street-facing rooms lacked. Our deluxe room had so little space between the long wall counter (note: no drawers) and the beds that only one of us could get by at a time, a real problem when someone was sitting in front of the computer area and the other needed to get by.

In both of the rooms we had the bathrooms were small; in one the bathroom floor was not level with that of the bedroom, making toe-stubbing all too easy.

However, the beds were quite comfortable and the air-conditioning was good--at least, in the bedrooms, as the halls were consistently hot and stuffy. The reading lights above the bed were excellent, and the bed linens were lovely. We wondered, however, who thought that eiderdowns were appropriate for Nice's summer weather. Our travelling companion had to turn the air-conditioning up full blast in order not to roast during the night, there being nothing on offer but the duvets.

Our biggest problem other than street noise was that the much-vaunted Internet connections were iffy. In our first room my husband was unable to get the cable connection to work, despite spending nearly an hour on the telephone with a support outfit based in London. He finally set things up for WiFi usage, but when we changed rooms the WiFi no longer worked.

Most of the reception staff were pleasant and helpful, although I had trouble arranging for the room change. The first person I asked said unhelpfully that nothing was available on the courtyard, never suggesting a room on the side street. The Asian man, who appeared to understand the value of client satisfaction, was the one who offered a solution to the noise problem.

We were surprised to note a number of upkeep problems in this recently renovated hotel: carpet stains, bits of molding pulled away from the walls, nicks in the walls, poor carpet installation in the halls.

I suspect that the hotel is designed to appeal to people traveling on business--certainly it has none of the charm that would attract vacationers. We certainly would not return.

private beach was the best thing about this hotel,

from FiKent
Private beach was the best thing about this hotel - and food served on the beach was fantastic. The hotel itself proved a litttle too minamalist in style (actually the beiges and neutral tones made it rather drab) for our liking and the room was tiny! The location is great, very near the old town and lots of places too eat but the hotel's breakfast was very poor, mini pastries and no proper croissants or French bread, and, I thought, over priced. Some staff were helpful but others were downright surly. We found lights wouldn.t come on in our room one night and waited in the lobby for them to be fixed. No one told us when they had been so we waited an unnecessarily long time. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again but I may visit their beach

good on the surface

from A TripAdvisor Member
Great first impression, fantastic contemporary designed interior with loads of clever details. Its a shame that it has not been finished with as much care. That said, its a good hotel, in a great location, in the old town near the best restaurants and across the road from the beach. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very expensive for what it is.

Wonderful holiday!

from mlstravel
Hotel Beau Rivage was the perfect ending to my holiday in France. I had done alot of sightseeing in Paris and Provence and was ready to relax and be pampered! The hotel staff was excellent and the room was large with a wonderful bathroom. The great blinds and most comfortable bed made for the best nights of sleep I had in France! Great location and loved the private beach. Would defintely stay here again!

Needs to get through growing pains

from SeasonedTrvlr
Ok, it's a nice hotel on the surface, and a great location, and nice beach etc. BUT - in my room, the TV occasionally malfunctioned, the glued on wood paneling on the desk was coming up, and the window shade wasn't working. NONE of these things they would/could fix during our stay.

Also the staff here has a big attitude. And the breakfast is too expensive to be worth it (go down the street to Le Pain Quotidien).

Would I stay here again, yes, because most of the other hotels in Nice are crummy. But frankly next time I come to the Riviera I'd stay in St. Tropez, Cap Ferat or any of other nicer areas. Nice you can tell is like the Fort Lauderdale of the Riviera and those in the know stay elsewhere.

Excellent hotel!

from thegoodlife1000
I stayed here for 3 nights in August after reading the positive reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel lobby has a sleek, clean minimalist feel. Our room was extremely comfortable - air conditioning worked perfectly, the bed has real comforters (not those blankets that you usually get in hotels), the plasma tv was cool, and the window shades allowed the room to stay completely dark in the am for great sleep-ins. The location was also ideal - right next to the beach and the old town. For a great meal check out L'Univers Christian Plumail which is only 3 blocks away. It's a michelin star restaurant with a set menu for only 42 euros. I would definitely stay at the Beau Rivage again.

Great location, good service

from A TripAdvisor Member
I was afraid it was going to be another chic but box-like designer hotel, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the decent-sized hotel room. It was recently renovated by the architect Jean Michel Wilmott (2004) so my friends & I were the lucky beneficiaries. It depends on how demanding you are, but I thought the amenities were standard & fine -- anyhow, if you call up housekeeping, they do provide disposable slippers & combs. The private pebble beach was 1 minute away & the small private stretch of beach itself & the beach restaurant food was much nicer than I expected (typical pricer hotel prices though.) The location was great, right next to the Old Town & bus stops (to get to the museums), walking distance to shopping (small town stuff though) & a stone's throw from the yummy resto La Petite Maison. The daytime concierge was excellent too, especially the Japanese gentlemen at the front desk who spoke fluent French, English & Japanese. I'd definitely stay there again. I've already recommended it to other friends.

Top Local Tips for Nice

Best restaurant in Nice! If you are looking for an exceptional dining experience, check out LaPetite Maison (11 Rue Saint François de Paule, Nice). The food is fabulous, the staff is wonderful, and the environment can't be beat! The Chateaubriand is especially good...

Dinning Stay off the touristy stretches and you'll find amazing places to eat. If you like strong coffee latte order an espresso with your latte.

Taxis in Nice They are expensive so be ready to pay. If you want to go to any cities near Nice (ex: Monaco, Cannes, St. Tropez) taxis are the best mode of travel but they are expensive - and for good reason - every city near Nice is worth visiting - so don't freak out about the taxi price because you will regret not seeing everything there is to see


Other names for Hotel Beau Rivage

  • resort beau rivage
  • beau rivage nice
  • Address: 24 Rue St Francois De Paul - Nice - 06300 - France
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 505 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Hotel Beau Rivage