Aeneas Hotel

, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Ayia Napa

Aeneas Hotel

, Ayia Napa
5 star

Rooms: 259

40, Nissi Ave. a pa P.O.Box 30476 - Ayia Napa - 5165344 - Cyprus Hotel Website | | 23724000
398 Traveller

Reviews - Aeneas Hotel

Rong 5 stars :(
Submitted by: Mike-Time in 29/05/09
  • Age Group: Under 18
  • From: Russia
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
A nice hotel but not 5 star, swimming pools are good. more than one,clean and warm.
Hotel grounds are kept clean and tidy.
Rooms ok not that big and two single beds pushed together.
Housekeeping staff good very friendly.
Food is absolutley awful cheap and nasty. lots of choice if you like roast dinners, cottage pie, pasta thats overcooked with over salty sauce,chicken nuggets,pancakes at every meal which are then rolled up to make caneloni and the batter used to encase the dry and undersized fish in a jacket of goo. the salads are ok but covered in mayo and plain salad leaves are suspiciously like shredded cabbage
Hospital food and cheap cavery pub food springs to mind.
No local dishes at all and the meat all very cheap and thin and over cooked.
Breakfast not bad the fresh fruit selection is good.
Left overs from the day before can be found lurking in the salads, like roast meat etc.
The staff in the restaurant are too quick to clear your plate and table before you have even finished, should you all go to the buffet together watch out as your table will be cleared and given to someone else this happened three times to us
There is no wine list its by the glass house red rose or white and its not good.
The bar staff are slow beyond belief and ignore you.
Happy hour is a joke, its the only time drinks are reasonable but if you get more than one drink you are lucky due to eterntiy you wait to be served.
A Cypriot wedding reception was held at the hotel during our stay, we were not told about alternative dining arrangements an watched bemused as thousands and I mean thousands od locals descended on the hotel to see the happy couple, you could not move in the hotel or bar and the poor guests staying in some room had wedding guests sprawled all over their terraces til past midnight.
The food on offer in the a la carte is the old table d' hote menu and its sad as it shows the hotel has declined and you do have a wine list.
The dress code the hotel claims to have is not adhered to, male guests are allowed to wear shorts to dinner, football shirts,jeans and flip flops are accepted.
Swim suits are allowed for lunch and breakfast.
You can get a sunbed but people do still get up at dawn to reserve them, the hotel says it collects towels put out before 8am but it doesnt.
I would not stay here again while it remains all inclusive the standards will continue to drop, the pool was the best bit.
I will never stay in a hotel that offers all inclusive again,
Fantastic Holiday
Submitted by: Pam in 05/01/09
  • Age Group: 60 +
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
This was a five star hotel which deserved everyone of those stars. Our accommodation was in a two storey block containing only six rooms. It was in a very quiet part of the hotel. The bathroom included a shower cubicle, a toilet cubicle, a sink and a bath with jacuzzi. We had our own section of swimming pool with sun-bathing terraces and plenty of sunbeds.
The food was well-prepared and well-presented. There was a good choice for the two meals a day we experienced. Meals in the general restaurant were buffet style, and there was no restriction on the number of visits guests could make to the food selections. This enabled you to have a three-course meal, or more if you desired. We were also given two vouchers by the management which entitled us to have meals on two separate occassions in the classy dining room, with full waiter service. Anyone wanting more than this could pay a supplement to experience the wonderful cuisine on offer.
The hotel staff, from the maids to the waiters, reception staff and managers, were very approachable and friendly. One evening during your stay, there was a 'get to know you' party, where free drinks and food were available. Later on in your stay there was a 'farewell' party. In the evening there would be a knock on the door of our room and a member of staff would be bringing chocolates round, and checking to see if there was anything else we needed. Bottled water was left in our room every day during the stay. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, and the milk, tea and coffee were regularly replenished.
All in all, there was nothing I could find fault with.
Some people....
Submitted by: Edward Hilton in 17/03/07
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
I would like to send this message to Mr. Hans from Sweden. I think by looking at your message its clear enough to say that you are being very rude. Slovakians are very smart and beautiful people. It looks like you were concentrated mainly on stuff and their salaries and not vacation. Its none of your business.
P.S. The hotel is great. Thanks a lot.
Worst hotel ever
Submitted by: Hans in 29/11/05
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: Sweden
  • Traveller type: Adventurer
Aeneas hotel is the worst in a way it treats comlaints and employees. Who gave to this hotel five star - come here and you will see. It could be four stars for its facilities but in a way staff treated me. UNSKILLED, 2 MONTHS EXPERIENCE waiters working in the 5stars hotel restaurant. Then I spoke to one of them and find out that salaries are above minimum, nobody cares for them... I am not blaming the staff, what could you expect from these low paid slovakians??? Do not choose this hotel if you care for human rights, however if you do ask them when you will be there and you will regret to this hotel. By no chances do not try to speak to duty nmanager - NO USE.
No better hotel or staff
Submitted by: Garry Stewart in 19/07/05
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
This as got to be one of the best hotels in cyprus. It must be good we have now been 6 times we have not been disappointed yet' far from it. It gets better every year. There are many return visitors which speaks for itself. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. It sounds like I've got an interest, well I have, it's heaven!

Historical Traveller Reviews of Aeneas Hotel

Distinctly Average

from loulou26
We stayed here for a week (ending 20th May) and my girlfriend and I had mixed feelings about the experience. Firstly as many have mentioned there IS ongoing building work so you dont need to take an alarm clock!! 7:15 on the dot you will here the magnificent tones of JCB's and pneumatic drills, great if you dont want to miss breakfast but hideous if like us, had many a hangover!.If you trawl some of the earlier reviews the Hotel stated that this building work would be complete but believe you me (I work in the construction industry)this extension works will NOT be finished until July/August if lucky.
Now for some positives..The manky stained carpet has now been replaced and it looks fab, they did all this in a day so the earlier posted photos are now obsolete.The food can be poor but some nights it was outstanding.Breakfast is motorway service station standard but the evening buffet is good.You must try the alacarte as you will be entitled to one voucher and its very good.The service from all staff IS 5* and thet will bend over backwards to help, the lady at the pool bar near the Gym was incredibly helpful has my girlfriend had a Tooth/gum infection so she couldnt do enough for us as did the staff in the evening Resturant.The staff were not bothered about tips so dont worry about that.If you are thinking of going to this Hotel make sure you go All inclusive as the drinks are extortionet otherwise.The all inclusive service lacks the little extras ie, all day servings at pool bar and snacks, also the mini bar in the room was chargeable. One thing that did bug me was that they stopped serving all inclusive drinks at 12pm!! so after that you have to pay for the last hour(bar shut at 1ish).Gym was ok but jaquzzi needs updating and headed pool wasnt heated.
All in all good service but problems everywhere else.

2* Masquerading as a 5*

from fluffykid
We originally booked this holiday through Thomson A La Carte which has since changed to the Platinum broucher, the official rating is 5* which is also the Thomson rating. Prior to our holiday we became aware through Trip Advisor that there was building work ongoing at this hotel. We therefore, contacted Thomson who advised us that the work was of a minor nature, we also contacted the hotel direct who confirmed via e-mail that the work would be complete by 30th April 2007. We received a further e-mail to say that some minor work was ongoing but would not affect our holiday. Upon arrival on the evening of the 6th May we were told "quote" you have a very nice room. The first thing we noticed was the stains on the carpet as we entered the room, the next was the smell of stale tobacco "in our non smoking room" complete with ash tray. We were however please to find that we had direct access to a private pool with a Jacuzzi. The next morning however, we were woken by the sound of heavy machinery, upon opening the patio door we were showered in brick dust as directly across from us a cutting machine was being used to cut paving slabs, this was also accompanied by a JCB digging nearby. We thought about asking for a change of room, but after visiting the restaurant which did not smell particularly nice and offered food that would not match the quality of a motorway rest area, we decided against this. After walking around the hotel which is part building site, we were totally dissatisfied and requested a change of hotel. During our wait to be moved "which was handled magnificently by Daniel the local Thomson Team Leader" we received a call from the hotel management to explain that the building work was part of the hotels expansion programme and offered to move us to another room, which we declined as we were supposedly in one of the best rooms. Whilst walking around the pool we noticed there was very limited space in terms of sun beds. There was also building debris in our private pool and bird droppings all over the patio. This was certainly not the luxury 5* room and hotel we were expecting, in fact a Motel 6 or Travel Inn would compare favourably to this establishment. We also spoke to a couple who were picked up from the Atlantic on the day we left, who informed us that although they were on half board they did not eat any meals at the hotel after their original one and had requested an earlier flight home due to their disapointment. We consider ourselves very lucky in having been moved to the Nissi Beach resort which is correctly rated as 4*.

Affordable Luxury - Good place for couples

from Andy73peterson
Hi guys,
Me and my girlfriend have just returned from our holidays. Aeneas hotel proved to be a very good choice for us. During the booking our agent informed us that there is some construction going on, but she also assured us that our room will not be affected by the noise. She also told us, confidentially, that the hotel offers free upgrades due
to the construction. So the price was right, the hotel looked nice from the photos plus we had the chance of receiving a free upgrade. So we booked!! a 2 week holiday

We arrived late at night. At check in (our agent was right) we were given a free upgrade to a pool access room!!! (fantastic!!). we also bought the upgrade from HF to All inclusive. The food was nice, the service was also very good, we really enjoyed the bar at nights. The noise from construction did not affect us(again our agent was right).
one day we decided to check their construction site, it seems they are preparing something very impressive.

Two things we did not like were
1)the gym needs some new equipment, Jacuzzi can become more private, and some more cardio machines are needed.
2)the tv in the room was not an LCD but an old model

The resort of ayia napa was also impressive. The bars and clubs are busy and all in the city center!!! We visited two beaches, nissi beach and the harbour beach. Both are sandy beaches with crystal clear waters - we didn’t like the music from the bars at nissi beach.

Those holidays were a sort of affordable luxury to me and my Girl friend. The hotel was nice, the swimming was excellent and the resort
of ayia napa proved to be a nice place to go on holidays!!!

Unforgettable Easter Holidays

from MariaLo
The hotel is perfect!!! And the resort very nice
Me and my Husband have just returned from our Easter holidays. We decided to visit Ayianapa and stay at Aeneas hotel. Although the hotel was under refurbishment (our agent informed us in advance regarding this), our holidays were excellent. The hotel upgraded us for free into one of their newly refurbished pool view rooms. This room was not affected by any construction work noise. The staff was very friendly especially the front office. The PR manager was also very helpful by providing us all the information for events and tours in the area.

The resort of ayianapa was also a very interesting experience.We have visited all the 14 chapels, the medieval monastery and we walked the nature trails of Kavo Greco. The empty sandy beaches of ayianapa during winter time offer an amazing view. Finally we had the chance to experience the local orthodox Easter celebrations such as the local candle parade.

We plan to revisit the resort during summer. And Aeneas hotel is the top in our list.


Building work spoilt the stay

from RickLjungsbr0
We stayed at the hotel from 5th to 12th March 2007.
Arriving in the evening we did not see that our ' Extra Large Pool View Room' in fact had a birds eye view of a building site foir the hotels extention. We found this out painfully at 7am when the cement mixer and drills started up. We where moved to another room a bit further away from the noise, but the whole complex was plauged by the construction work.- noise and dust.

The new construction is due to be finished by end April, but will never be finished before the summer season 2007.

Without the construction work it would have been very pleasant. My advise is to avoid the hotel until the autumn.

Management Response from AHMCyprus
It is true that building work is taking place at the Atlantica Aeneas Resort. All the Tour Operators that have contractual agrrements with the hotel have been informed. However the photograph shown is misleading as the building shown it is the new extension of the hotel which does not affect any of the existing rooms. However all the building work will be finished and the new extension will open at the end of April. The hotel has gone through extensive renovation to satisfy the existing clientele and attract more in the coming year.

The Hotel on the 1st of May will have the following new additions.

New Build in Buffets.
Rooms with Parked floors
New furniture in the Lobby
32 New suites with their own private swimming pool.
New A La Carte Restaurant
New Church for Weddings
Spa Center will operate 2008

All this will make Atlantica Aeneas a Landmark in Ayia Napa and I am sure will be a superb Platinum Product.

Andreas K. Hadjiandreou
Atlantica Hotels.

A Fantastic Holiday

from katerobharryned
First Choice sold us a holiday in Kos in a hotel that was not built so we moved to Sungarden in Cyprus and paid for a Kids Suite. When we got there there were no Kids Suites available. So we were moved to the Aeneas. They could not have been more friendly and helpful.

The rooms were really clean. We had a lovely huge double bedroom with our own balcony and TV (not that we watched it much). The chidlren had bunkbeds with their own tv and balcony - handy for Dora the Explora in the morning!

The food was fantastic. We went in the OCtober half term and it was about 27 degrees. The hotel was fairly quiet so we didn't have a problem with it being like a cattle market at breakfast.

We were all inclusive. Obviously you have to pay for some things, you always do when all inclusive (certain alcohol) but we just checked at the beginning of the holidays. I found plenty of cocktails that were included.

All the waiters and bar staff asked us for our room number once and if we were all inclusive and then they remembered it for future - we were not asked again.

The Kids club tried but the girl in there didn't seem too interested. When the other members of the ents team came to get the kids going and included them in things it worked really well. Once or twice small kids who had been left in there were left with sharp scissors whilst the girl answered her mobile outside. We didn't leave ours unattended as we got the impression they could wander off unnoticed.

There were plenty of toys in there though and for older children it would be fine.

There was a kids disco every night for an hour, which they enjoyed.

Other than that the entertainment was sparse but as we were after a relaxing, not doing much holiday it suited us. I imagine some people might want more entertainment and maybe there is more in the summer.

Overall we were really happy with our holiday. It was thanks to the manager of the Sungarden and the Aeneas that we were sorted out, First Choice did not contact us once to see if we were okay or to inform us of transfer details.

A Unique Experience

from PeterUKG
Me and My wife stayed in Aeneas Hotel for two Weeks in July. We had the best holidays ever. The hotel is great with nice comfortable rooms. We had a room with pool access which was fantastic. The Swimming pool is huge and nice. I really liked the pool bar inside the swimming pool where I used to spent a lot of my time. The food was nice but what we really liked was the special food nights at the main restaurant of the hotel such as the Fish Night. The hotel is just across the famous nissi beach and 15 minutes on feet from the city center. There are also nice restaurants in the area. Finally the hotel Gym was satisfactory. give it a Go. It is a real value for money

Good Holiday

from Caroline12
I stayed at the Aeneas with my husband and young baby.

The hotel was very nice and the pool was excellent. There were plenty of young families so I didn't feel uncomfortunable sitting around the pool with a young toddler.

I was disappointed with the standard of the room as I expected a lot more from a 5*. We have stayed at other 5* hotels in cyprus and thought the room needed touching up to come into line with other hotels. We were advised however by the lovely shop owner at the Aeneas that new management had taken over the hotel and were now starting to make improvements.

Breakfast was excellent, great choice of food. We went for breakfast at around 9ish every morning and we didn't find it to be too busy. I didn't think it was like a cattlemarket like over reviews have stated. There was one day when it was particularly busy but this was not a problem.

In my opinion the hotel isn't the best five star hotel i have ever stayed in but i found the stay enjoyable and didn't have any major complaints.

Aeneas BIG Mistake !!!

from TheClient

We are staying in the Hotel for 10 days. We are day two and we are very dissapointed about the hotel, the hotel is a big rip off.
They charge you for everything (e.g. they charge you £0,50 if you want to have a mixed drink like a Margharita). We are all incl. so that means that we don't have to pay for beverages or food at the hotel. What a big mistake, our minibar, safe, aperitives and some cocktails etc. were not included.
Not only is there a problem with the food and drinks, even the hotel rooms and pool are dirty.

To round up: If you can avoid this hotel, do it, there are better hotels to stay in.

Steven & Nathalie


from grann
We stayed at the Aeneas the first two weeks in June, .We had up graded from the standard room to a larger one, the room was kept clean, and clean pool towels were provided daily.

We had a problem with pidgon droppings on the area out side our balcony an area that we had to walk over to get to the pool this was only swept twice and jetwashed once in the two weeks we stayed. I mentioned this to reception staff when we checked out and they said we should have complained earlier. My view of this is it is an ongoing problem that they should have been aware of and made sure that all public areas were cleaned regularlly. I expected a better standard of cleaning in any hotel I have stayed in cleaner 3 and 4 star hotels

Friends that travelled with us had a problem with the air conditioning leaking it left water on the room floor that ran into the wardrobe so all their shoes had to be lifted up on to the dressing table but took three days for it to be resolved.

The sun beds are very basic and not cleaned often enough

On the plus sides the hotel is in a good location just across the road from Nissi beach.

The pool at this hotel is lovely and very big ideal for children

The breakfasts were good with a good selection of fruit, cereal, ham, cheese and cooked food. tea and coffee was served quickly and the staff were friendly.

Dinner had a good selection although not that well presented. they had music and shows in the dining room most nights, a good standard of entertainment.

The room service menu was good quick and the staff freindly.

I dont think I would stay here again.

Top Local Tips for Ayia Napa

Dining 1) Fish and Meze : Karousos Beach Restaurant on the harbour beach of ayianapa 2) Japanese : Hokkaido – city center 3) Upscale – Sage restaurant 4) Cool Guru Bar

Beach to visit i reccommend nissi beach and barbour beach

Where to Eat Oddins offered good portions and good food quality. The Pagoda chinese was well worth the visit,


Other names for Aeneas Hotel

  • hotel atlantica aeneas
  • atlantica aeneas resort
  • atlantica aeneas ayia napa
  • aeneas hotel
  • Address: 40, Nissi Ave. a pa P.O.Box 30476 - Ayia Napa - 5165344 - Cyprus
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 398 reviews

"Rong 5 stars :(" - Mike-Time

"Fantastic Holiday" - Pam

"Some people...." - Edward Hilton

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Aeneas Hotel