Hotel Dubrovnik President

, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Dubrovnik

  • Hotel Zagreb Šetalište Kralja Zvonimira 27, Dubrovnik, Croatia 7.0/10 - 63 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars
  • Villa Micika Hotel 10 Mata Vodopica, Dubrovnik, Croatia 5.4/10 - 12 reviews 7 Rooms
  • Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Iva Dulcica 18, Dubrovnik, Croatia 7.0/10 - 130 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Hotel Lapad Lapadska obala 37, Dubrovnik, Croatia 9.0/10 - 537 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Hotel Kazbek Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik, Croatia 9.0/10 - 78 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 13 Rooms
  • Hotel Ivka Sv. Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik, Croatia 8.0/10 - 53 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 73 Rooms
  • Hotel Petka Obala Stjepana Radica 38, Dubrovnik, Croatia 8.0/10 - 61 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 104 Rooms
  • Asterea Hotel Marka Marojce 40, Dubrovnik, Croatia 7.0/10 - 12 reviews 307 Rooms
  • Berkeley Hotel Andrije Hebranga 116A, Dubrovnik, Croatia 9.0/10 - 255 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 24 Rooms
  • Hotel R I. Vojnovica 16, Dubrovnik, Croatia 8.0/10 - 9 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Hotel Lero Put Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik, Croatia 8.0/10 - 139 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Hotel Bellevue 7 Pera Cingrije, Dubrovnik, Croatia 9.0/10 - 362 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 93 Rooms
  • Rixos Hotel Libertas 3 Liechtensteinov, Dubrovnik, Croatia 8.0/10 - 219 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 254 Rooms
  • Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel 2 Marijana Blazica, Dubrovnik, Croatia 9.0/10 - 642 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars
  • Edi Macinko Apartments Hotel 7 U Pilama, Dubrovnik, Croatia 7.0/10 - 49 reviews

Hotel Dubrovnik President

4 star

Rooms: 172

Iva Dulcica 39 - Dubrovnik - 20000 - Croatia Hotel Website | | 020/ 441 100
185 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Dubrovnik President

Fabulous hotel
Submitted by: Helena Hession in 29/08/05
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: Ireland
  • Traveller type: Culture Vulture
Fabulous hotel. The rooms are really spacious with a living area attached. The view is fantastic. Private beach is stony but that is the norm for the area. Food is delicious; an amazing breakfast buffet. Otherwise a quiet hotel, not really for families with kids I think. Would definitely go back there. Best holiday yet.
1 out of 1 reader found this review helpful

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Dubrovnik President

very relaxing

from tedred
read the reviews here and it looked and felt favourable and it was.
we booked this through sunway travel in dublin. from arrival to departure we were looked after by the helpful friendly staff. as we had booked half board and arrived after the restaurant was closed, we already requested a meal on arrival and that was ready for us (cold meat and cheese salad).
we booked a superior room and we were not dissappointed. the room was clean very good condition, tv, minibar, spaceious bathroom and long balcony with a fabulous sea view. the tap water in the hotel was safe to drink (as well as the water from the fountains in the old town). the only english speaking channels on the tv were sky news, cnbc and cnn. though bbc world is listed it is unavailable from cable company at present( we asked about it).
the restaurant was spotless, bright, spacious, comfortable and very clean. it was self service, but chefs were there cooking and you can see what they are doing. the food was brilliant. the waiters brought a flask of coffee to your table on arrival, though tea is available you have to get that yourself at the servery. in the evenings the waiters were on the ball taking your order for drinks (you pay for those). you can sit outside for your meals weather permitting, we only sat in, on two evenings due to wind and the staff had closed the doors out. there is entertainment in the hotel in the evenings, a string quartet, croatian folk music, 60' & 70's music is in the bar on various nights. we chose to got to the troupadour jazz bar in the old town. its the place to be in my book. be there before 9.45 with the old guy playing piano, as the band starts to arrive from then on and it gets busy. they are a great band, fun and the music set is never the same.

all the staff from waiters, maids, reception, life guards, bar staff, porters to management were friendly and courteous. the newspaper shop has most uk and us paper but are two days late.

the beach is the pebble type but dont let that put you off as the sea is beautifully clean and clear. sunbeds and umbrellas are free to use, but have your room card with you to get umbrella from the lifeguard. the sunbeds are already on the beach.

location wise, the hotel is 10 minutes away from the old town, the #6 or the #6a goes from just across the road from the hotel to the gates of the old town, you can get bus tickets from the newsagent in hotel for 8kn (about €1) or 10kn on the bus. the #6a is an express bus and gets you there quicker.

there is a sister hotel just across the road through the park, the tirena, that is available to you and is worth a look, its a 3* but the drink is cheaper and the music

overall, the hotel president, is well run, well organised and friendly place and reflects its 4* rating. the hotel is spacious and have potenial for more facilities. there is very little for children though and it is a pity, although there is an indoor swimming pool, its not enough.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear tedred, thank you for this review and extremely positive comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and discovered the beauties Dubrovnik has to offer. Impressions like these always bring us joy and motivate to be even better. We are pleased that we have fulfilled your expectations. Hope to see you soon. Greeting to Dublin from Dubrovnik.

What a balcony!

from carolkParadise
This hotel is built into the mountain, along the Adriatic Sea, so that EVERY room has a large balcony on the Sea. The elevator is actually a funicular going down the side of the mountain to each floor. The rooms were very large and clean, the restaurants were very good and the drinks strong.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear carolkParadise, thank you for the extremely positive comments. Hope to see you soon. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to Paradise from Dubrovnik.

Beautiful hotel

from ballymaguigan
My wife and i stayed in the President hotel over Easter. We booked with last and got a good rate for half board. The hotel is beautiful with great views. The room was large with a cream leather sofa and a large balcony. The food was excellant, the best we ever had at any hotel. The evening meal was buffet style with lots of meat and fish. The staff were really friendly and helpful at all times. We went to look at the pool and it seemed ok. I think the hotel could do with an outdoor pool as the beach is very stoney and difficult to walk on. There is plenty of space for sun bathing next the sea but they had no loungers out at Easter even though it was hot and we would have liked somewhere to enjoy the sun. The no.6 bus stops out side the hotel and takes you to the old town which was very handy. One day we went to Cavtat on the no.10 bus. The journey takes about 30mins and the scenery is breathtaking. Cavtat is a beautiful village with many pavement cafes to have a coffee and watch the world go by. We also went to Medjugorje on a trip it takes about 2hr 30mins. Again the scenery was beautiful. The road runs high above the sea - not for the faint hearted, but well worth the journey. You must bring your passport to get into Bosnia. The old town is a lovely place and the walk along the walls had great views. There are many steps but if you take your time you can do it. All in all Croatia was a lovely place to visit and we hope to return again.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear ballymaguigan, thank you for the review, the suggestions and the photos you have shared with the Tripadvisor members. I recommend a visit in a busier time of year. I am happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and that you visited Dubrovnik's surrounding area, it's really worth it. Hope to see you soon. Greetings to you and your wife and Ireland, of course.

Good choice for stop over

from Spritzer2
We stayed here for our first night in Croatia before driving up the coast to join friends on a yacht. 'Superior' room was very spacious, clean and in the morning we appreciated our first sea views from the long terrace outside.
Dinner was slow, guess a lot of people eat the inclusive menu earlier, but when our snacks came both were good quality and the recommended wine was very drinkable.
Breakfast was very good, much to choose from. Terrace setting was apreciated.
It's outside town, so would not choose to stay here to tour Dubrovnik (Imperial Hilton is the one for that), and after a few days I think we might have found this a lifeless area. An above average tourist hotel, but not for us for more than a quick visit for convenience.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear Spritzer2, thank you for the review. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to you, your friend and the UK, of course.

s the Honey?

from LongDrives
When we first checked into the hotel, we were very impressed. The lobby area is bright and open and resembles the deck of a cruise ship with terraces and views to the sea. The rooms were completely renovated, sleek and modern and the bathroom was fully equipped. We had our own patio looking out to the Adriatic. We thought the "mod" elevators that take you down to the (rocky) beach were fun in a retro sort of way.

Then the reality sunk in. Due to a mixup that seems equal parts the fault of Expedia and the hotel, the room turned out to be much more expensive than planned. While the hotel did its best to accomodate us, it still left a sour taste. We then began to notice that for a pretty expensive resort, the hotel was just average. The in-door pool looked nice, but on close inspection, there was a lot of fungus between the tiles. We were chased off the beach one afternoon so that a bulldozer could dump a fresh load of pebbles on the beach. The slow elevators quickly became irritating. While the staff at the breakfast buffet was very sweet, the meal was about what you'd expect from a package hotel -- plentiful, but not very distinctive. The place is also pretty far out -- Lapad is a thirty minute bus ride away from the Old Town.

All in all, we were disappointed with the President. Taking advantage of the sizzling hot tourism market in Croatia, they're charging a lot more than what you get. We felt much like one of the elderly cruise line guests staying at the hotel, who kept asking "Where's the honey?"
Management Response from Valamar
Dear LongDrives, thank you for the review. Any misunderstanding with the agency was not our fault. You can find all the current offers and the necessary information on the Valamar websites. Hope to see you again. Greetings to Moscow.

Nice location and space

from chucklicht
We stayed at the President for 8 nights on a guided tour of Croatia. This hotel was above average for the trip. Located right on the Adriatic with a beach and pool, it qualifies as a nice resort.
Our room was spacious, bright and cheerful. There are large terraces facing the sea with beautiful views. The bath was large and well equipt.
The hotel's public spaces are nice and the breakfast room is large with a good variety of foods.
The only negative is the elevators which are extremely slow. During our stay one of the two broke down but was repaired quickly. Since the sleeping rooms are on the first through the fifth floors and the public spaces on the sixth and seventh, one can walk up and down without a great deal of trouble.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear chucklicht, thank you for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and that one of the towns you visited was Dubrovnik. I am happy that we have fulfilled your expectations. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to Sarasota from Dubrovnik.

sunshine and showers

from copsha
hotel president is set on the peninsula of lapad about twenty minutes from Dubrovnik centre by bus. the hotel itself is a bit sixtyish and although they say they have a private beach there were plenty of locals taking up the spaces when we were there. evening entertainment was a disappointment, so most nights we spent wandering the old town, not that I am complaining, the old town is absolutely amazing and there are very few signs of the devastation caused during the war. the babin kuk area was being upgraded whilst we were there and one of the hotels was still lying empty, I think that within the next four or five years the area should be back to what it was like twenty or so years ago. a word of warning, the pool at the president although inside is absolutely freezing, better to have a dip in the sea. day trips to the islands, mostar and cavtat broke up the fortnight, a trip to the war museum in dubrovnik is a must, it will leave you speechless. watch out for the showers when it rains, it rains!!
Management Response from Valamar
Dear copsha, thank you for the review and the attached photos. I am happy that you explored Dubrovnik and its surrounding area. I recommend a visit in a busier time of year. I hope the weather will be less moody next time :). Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to Northeast.

Lacked atmosphere

from A TripAdvisor Member
Although a lovely clean Hotel, it lacked atmosphere,this may be because it is a large conference hotel and the Managers and staff seamed more intent on giving the delegates a good time,rather than the people who had paid a lot of money for their holiday.(ie our needs, especially in the restaurant always came 2nd).
This hotel must have the worst cocktail bar in Croatia, if you want a drink before dinner, be warned this can take a hour, not because it is busy (usually 6 people) but because the staff do not really seem interested in serving you.Witnessed many an angry,sober customer.Tip order 2 cocktails each at the beginning saves alot of frustration.
Be very wary of the Hotel beach which consists of large sharp pebbles, this can be very dangerous as a quest in the next room to us found after slipping on the slippery rocks, spent most of his holiday at the local hospital.Also you will need jelly shoes to go in the water, very sharp stones under foot.
The Old Town of Dubrovnik is very charming, beautiful place, and a must is the City Wall walk which takes about 2 hours.
We had 14 days there and were ready to come back,off the beaten track,no local feel and no where to walk.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear A Tripadvisor Member, thank you for the review. I am happy that you were taken aback by Dubrovnik. Hope to see you again. Greetings to England.

Beautiful scenery

from anilod
Bedrooms and public areas very clean. Food excellent and plentiful. Entertainment is minimal; what there is tends to be old-fashioned and sedate, e.g. piano player. Views are wonderful. Be warned the 'beach' is pebble and there are a lot of rocks covered in green algae so shoes are essential. However, there is the alternative of an indoor pool in the hotel or a lovely outdoor pool very close in the entertainment park area. A few shops and restaurant/bars close by. Regular bus service to Dubrovnik and surrounding areas. All in all a very worthwhile experience.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear anilod, thank you for the review and the attached President photos. We are happy that you have chosen Dubrovnik for your holiday. Hope to see you soon. Greetings to Coleraine.

Lovely Hotel

from Jorie
We have just got back from Dubrovnik and enjoyed it very much but a week would be enough. The hotel you could not fault for food, room and staff. It was a bit far out and quiet there was plenty of walking to do. No entertainment on but that could be that we were out of season. We went on a trip to Mostar and that is well worth a visit. All in all I would recommend this hotel.
Management Response from Valamar
Dear Jorie, thank you for the review. We definitely recommend a visit in a busier time of year in order to experience Dubrovnik in a somewhat different atmosphere. We are happy that you explored Dubrovnik and it surrounding area; Mostar is truly beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again. Visit us at the Adriatic again. Greetings to Rotherham from Dubrovnik.

Top Local Tips for Dubrovnik

Grand Imperial Take a look inside the Grand Imperial Hotel in the Old Town. Be sure to climb the City Walls. Don't forget to go to Cavat.

troupadour jazz bar troupadour jazz bar. its only reall live music venue if any in the old town. but its great, band are brilliant

stay close to town for the beauty a delightful, fun town. great resturants. views.


Other names for Hotel Dubrovnik President

  • president hotel dubrovnik
  • hotel president dubrovnik
  • hotel dubrovnik president
  • dubrovnik president
  • dubrovnik hotel president
  • Address: Iva Dulcica 39 - Dubrovnik - 20000 - Croatia
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 185 reviews

"Fabulous hotel" - Helena Hession

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Hotel Dubrovnik President