The Claridges Hotel

, New Delhi, India
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around New Delhi

  • Itc Hotel Maurya Sheraton & Towers Diplomatic Enclave, S.P Marg (Delhi), New Delhi, India 9.0/10 - 486 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 515 Rooms
  • Hotel Vikram Lajpat Nagar, New Delhi, India 7.0/10 - 47 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 72 Rooms
  • Taj Palace Hotel Sardar Patel Marg, New Delhi, India 9.0/10 - 476 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 422 Rooms
  • Hyatt Regency Delhi Hotel Bhikaji Cama Place, Ring Road, New Delhi, India 8.0/10 - 413 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 508 Rooms
  • Jaypee Vasant Continental Hotel Vasant Vihar, New Delhi, India 7.7/10 - 111 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 123 Rooms
  • Hotel Broadway 4/15 A, Asaf Ali Road, New Delhi, India 7.1/10 - 67 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 26 Rooms
  • Hotel Delhi City Centre 8633-45, A Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar, New Delhi, India 7.2/10 - 140 reviews 35 Rooms
  • Hotel Ajanta 36 Ram Nagar Arakashan Road, New Delhi, India 7.1/10 - 767 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 70 Rooms
  • Hotel Ashoka International 3382 D. B. Gupta Road, New Delhi, India 5.0/10 - 16 reviews 40 Rooms
  • Hotel Aura 31 Arakashan Road Paharganj, New Delhi, India 7.0/10 - 143 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 25 Rooms
  • Hotel Swati Deluxe 17-A 32 Gurudwara Road, New Delhi, India 6.9/10 - 66 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 44 Rooms
  • Hotel C Park Inn 1042 / 15, Abdul Rahman Road, New Delhi, India 7.0/10 - 30 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 23 Rooms
  • Grand Park Inn Hotel 1041/17, Abdul Rahman Road, New Delhi, India 8.0/10 - 270 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 20 Rooms
  • Hotel Suncity 11A / 34 W.E.A., Channa Market, New Delhi, India 7.0/10 - 119 reviews
  • Hotel Sun City 11 A / 34, W.E.A., Channa Market, New Delhi, India 7.0/10 - 120 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 24 Rooms

The Claridges Hotel

, New Delhi
5 star

Rooms: 138

12, Aurangzeb Road - New Delhi - 110 011 - India Hotel Website | | 011 - 23010211
334 Traveller

Reviews - The Claridges Hotel

Wonderful stay
Submitted by: Tim Hollinsead in 23/09/06
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
We stayed at the Claridges hotel for over two weeks for our daughter's wedding and to see the sighs. I cannot say enough great things about the staff or environment. Everyone was great. Great service and extremely friendly. The restaurants are fabulous. I will definitely be staying there on my next trip.

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Claridges Hotel

What a disappointment

from netski
Visiting India last week-we chose to stay for the first 2 days-and final day at The Claridges Hotel in New Delhi-primarily due to the location being central and their ability to provide 3 seperate beds in a room. Although the room was small -for the first 2 days-it was adequate-and we were told upon our departure that we could repeat this set up after our tour.. Upon arriving back after a long and tiring journey from Agra-we were informed that they only had the club room available-at a much higher rate. We were so tired that we had no choice but to accept this. Now read the following: Blood on the bedsheets, a shower that leaked so badly in the bathroom we had to use 6 towels to cover the floor so we didn't slip over (which they promised to replace but didn't), mould and damp on the walls-and the extra bed turned up at 11.30pm in the form of a badly damaged and dirty matress thrown onto the floor by 2 very rude staff members. Other highlights of the stay were 3 seperate occasions of being shortchanged by lobby staff when changing currencies (not by a few pounds either), completely wrong breakfast being delivered, damaged garden furniture with nails sticking out that ripped my friends trousers, rancid butter...oh what a wonderful 5 star experience. If you pay for what you get-we were seriously overcharged. I have stayed in modest guest houses in some of the poorest parts of Sri Lanka and have been delighted with the atmosphere, cleanliness, honesty and hospitality of these places-to these I shall recommend others and return for The Claridges my advice is simple: Avoid it-I shall!!

Good Hotel let down by pool area

from D.Fisher
Spent 2 nights here having completed a 6 day tour round the area. The service from staff was the best on our whole 3 week holiday.

Other reviews have mentioned the rooms and renovations taking place. The rooms were good, but out of the whole lot, only 8 face the pool area. I think as tourists we wanted to unwind around the pool having spent the previous days rushing round Rajastan. This part of the hotel wasn't 5 star and really needs sorting out. Having said that, I got the impression that's lots of it's guests are business people or Indian families, so gathering around the pool isn't as important as to them

Try not to use the phone in the room either. I spotted a fraudulent transaction on my account and had to phone the bank straight away. I was charged £77 for a 24 minute phone call. So if you need to phone home, get a phone card!!

World Class

from Yabolo
I recently spent several nights at the Claridges. The service is extraordinary and every employee is friendly and eager to be helpful. The hotel -- recently renovated -- is gorgeous and the location is great. Our meals at the restaurant hotels were first class and we got a great rate on the internet. Highly recommended!

Great value for money!

from A TripAdvisor Member
The Claridges was a change from most hotels in the region. The rooms are large, cellings are high and amenities are morden and the most enjoyable thing is the natural light!!!

We stayed for 4 days, whilst i was busy with business, my wife made the most of staying in heart of Delhi. The staff was friendly and helpful.


from A TripAdvisor Member
Although the 75% that has been refurbished is very nice indeed if like me you were stuck in the 25% that had not, expect to pay $225 for a large room with stained carpets, sofa and walls; a bathroom with cracked tiles and bath; half eaten trays of food left on the ripped carpeted corridor floor leading to your room and a very noisy air conditioner. On the plus side, they make very nice ice-cream coffee in the coffee shop.
I appreciate that they are half way through updating but to continue to place people in these rooms and call themselves a 3-star hotel is a joke!

s rating

from A TripAdvisor Member
We did not expect Claridges to be up to the standard of the Imperial and we were not wrong. The hotel was still undergoing some renovation work and we found ourselves awake most of the night listening to furniture and equipment being dragged around the room above ours, despite repeated calls to reception and a 1am visit from an in effectual duty manager, who at first denied any work was going on, until we were all nearly overcome with paint fumes!
The themed hotel restaurant was suposed to resemble a roadhouse. The food was bland and the atmosphere phoney. Our bedroom was ok but the curtain was hanging off and the bathroom was too small. One to avoid!!

Poor, just poor! The reception manager was really rude too!

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have re-read the reviews of this hotel - just in case I was misjudging this hotel unfairly. But no. My view, shared by many it seems, is that this hotel is hardly a 3 star. The main reception has been smartly redeveloped, but the rooms (which afterall are important, when all you really want is a comfortable, clean and secure facility for sleeping) supported by helpful staff and decent food too.

But the reality of the Claridges is poor quality furniture - no hot water ever! Cramped small rooms which are overpriced and a restaurant that is bleak and lacking in any charm.

However, what really differentiates this hotel is the really appalling response from the management when you had a serious problem - as regrettably we did. When we returned from a lovely dinner at the Imperial (not as expensive as some people would have you believe - and fab food/setting too) - we were shocked to find that some medicaton had been removed from our bedroom at the Claridges.

I called the front desk and asked whether someone could possibly have accidentally removed them in error. The front desk / duty manager was disinterested and suggested that we might have lost the tablets ourselves. We rechecked and rechecked and could tell that our medicines had been removed (stolen, to be more precise).

This is a very serious accusation to make, and not one that I make lightly.

I asked to speak to the manager - this was now nearly two hours later and the hotel still had not done anything to try to address the problem. They refused to get the manager. The duty manager was hostile and aggressive.

I asked for the police phone number as I now wished to report this to the police. He again refused. I asked several times and eventually managed to get the phone number myself and proceeded to report the theft personally.

The police arrived and were very helpful. I was told there had been similar problems at this hotel, although could not confirm this myself. It was only through the insistence of the Police Chief that the hotel agreed to conduct an invesitgation and arrange for the tablets to be replaced.

Three hours later (now the middle of the night) the hotel phoned me in my room (and woke me up) to tell me I could come to the front desk and collect replacement tablets. Unbelieveable.

Still unbelieveable was that I went to the front desk - only to find that they had got the wrong medication.

I ended my stay at this hotel several days early - and checked out of this hotel the next morning - in part because of the theft - but mainly because of the attitude of the Duty Manager.

I should like to thank the police who were friendly, helpful and reassuring at all times.

The hotel management should however be viewed with great suspicion.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Okay for weary travellors

from withbells
Although I was underwhelmed by the 70s facade and dreary designer-imitation lobby, the room was spacious and the bed an absolutely comfortable highlight.

Our room didn't have a pool or garden view. We looked onto a parking lot. But to make up for it, we had 2 super size plasma televisions. I guess that cheered us up a bit.

There was a bad smell in the room. My boyfriend thought it was from the teak floors - maybe the polish or something? It was pretty nasty.

The bathroom was marble. Okay except that it didn't have a bath, and the hot water never ran hot or even very warm, despite many demands.

The restaurant Corbett's was kind of fun and delicious. I did enjoy that. But the breakfast restaurant was just adequate.

Overall, Delhi's not the greatest place anyway. If you've just gotten off a 20 hour flight from North America and you want somewhere to get over your jetlag for two nights, this is an okay choice.

here right now and not impressed

from chadwick77
mmm Claridges...delusions of grandeur/identitiy crisis. NOthing special compared to many other top Indian hotels.

Looking tatty in some areas. If they are doing some renovations fine, but there's no signage to indicate this. Over jealous staff lining up but that's normal I think!

Had to move rooms as despite their promotional material stating that all guest rooms have a garden or pool view this is not the case. The solution they clean the marble floor with stinks pretty bad and has a nasty lingering latrine smell. I can also hear taps running and toilets flushing through the air con system.

maybe I've been spoilt in other hotels..!

Nice hotel, but a few problems

from UglyRedd
I spent 3 days at the Claridges in late Feb/early March '06. It's an older hotel that is undergoing renovation. I had a renovated room complete with plasma TV and electronically controlled lighting and drapes. The bathroom had a nice marble shower, and the entire room showed very nicely. While it showed nicely, not everything worked properly. Channels on the TV had to be switched manually, I think because no one could figure out how to program the remote. The shower door leaked and water flowed freely onto the floor. The air conditioning vent had very wide slots and flies constantly came through. Lastly, they use a ghastly cleaning fluid on the marble floors that leaves a terrible odor.

The hotel has several restaurants and all are good, especially the chinese.

Service is prompt and very friendly. Like other nice hotels in India, the staff tries almost a little too hard, and you are constantly saying no thank-you.

There is a nice lawn with umbrella tables out front. Great place for a cigar and drink this time of year.

If not for the odor, I'd give the hotel a third star.

Top Local Tips for New Delhi

indian currency Get some money changed before you leave the airport its a better rate than at the hotels.

Get the hotel you booked by checking you have confirmed rooms We had booked a holiday which had said that we had rooms in Delhi in the Imperial. Somehow two weeks before leaving we got a letter saying it was booked up. However but I sat next to people on the flight home who booked after us and got rooms. We were tranferred to something rather nasty instead. As it was late - 11.30pm on arrival and we were getting up at 4 our 2nd night there was no point changing. A sad end to a fab holiday.

Red Fort The evening light show at the Red Fort was a bit tacky. I would not recommend going.


Other names for The Claridges Hotel

  • the park hotel delhi
  • the claridges delhi
  • The Claridges
  • hotel claridges
  • claridges new delhi
  • claridges india
  • claridges hotel new delhi
  • claridges hotel delhi
  • claridges
  • Address: 12, Aurangzeb Road - New Delhi - 110 011 - India
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 334 reviews

"Wonderful stay" - Tim Hollinsead

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Claridges Hotel