The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel

, Bangalore, India
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Bangalore

  • Hotel Swagath 75, Hospital Road Near Majestic Theatre, Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 13 reviews 64 Rooms
  • Safina Hotels 84 Infantry Road, Bangalore, India 6.0/10 - 7 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 34 Rooms
  • Ashraya International Hotel 149 Infantry Road (Karnataka), Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 25 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 72 Rooms
  • The Chancery Hotel 10/6, Lavelle Road, Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 69 reviews 110 Rooms
  • Regaalis Bangalore Hotel 40/2, Lavelle Road, Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 20 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 52 Rooms
  • Hotel Infantry Court No. 66, Infantry Road, Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 29 reviews 72 Rooms
  • Royal Orchid Harsha Hotel No. 11, Park Road, Shivajinagar, Bangalore, India 8.0/10 - 92 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 80 Rooms
  • Hotel Vintage Residency No.9, Mission Road, Bangalore, India 8.7/10 - 3 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Hotel Geo 11, Devanga Hostel Road, Near Corporation Circle, Bangalore, India 6.0/10 - 14 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 66 Rooms
  • The Capitol Hotel No. 3, Rajbhavan Road, Bangalore, India 5.8/10 - 65 reviews 144 Rooms
  • Hotel Mahaveer 8/1 & 9, Tank Bund Road, (Near City Rly. Station) (Karnataka), Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 1 review Hotel Class 5 stars 45 Rooms
  • Ginger Hotel 128 EPIP Phase 2,, Bangalore, India 6.0/10 - 126 reviews
  • The Atria Hotel No. 1, Palace Road, Bangalore, India 8.0/10 - 60 reviews 168 Rooms
  • Museum Inn Hotel #1, Museum Road, Bangalore, India 7.0/10 - 25 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 52 Rooms
  • Hotel Bangalore Gate 9 & 12, Kempe Gowda Road (Karnataka), Bangalore, India 8.0/10 - 52 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 81 Rooms

The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel

5 star

Rooms: 254

23, Airport Road - Bangalore - 560 008 - India Hotel Website | | 080 - 25211234
495 Traveller

Reviews - The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel

The best beds in India

from WorldwideLive
Incredibly overpriced hotel, the true value per night is a least 150.00 USD lower, only stayed one night as it was near the airport for my 0645 flight back to dear old blighty.
The rooms were superb the gnocchi on the menu was the best I have had for a long time.
The beds wrap themselves around you.
I was on the inside of the property and enjoyed a drink on the balcony.
I would stay at again if I could get a rate of less then 300 USD.

Possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in.....

from RobMo
Do describe this hotel as 'opoulent 'would be to do them an injustice. It is simply superb in every way. Yes, it's not cheap but in this case you really do get what you pay for.

The room was stunning with great lighting detail, plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. You even get a 'pillow menu' should the pillows they have supplied as standard not be to your liking!

In addition to the rooms, and possibly the hotel's best feature was the staff. From maintenance workers to bar staff, reception staff and bell boys, they were all supremely polite and seemed a lot more genuine than staff can sometimes be at hotels in this part of the world. I was travelling on my own and often the problem can be is that when I just want a relaxed chat with the bar staff, the workers cannot adapt themselves to the situation and instead maintain their official facade. This place was different though and the guys working in the bar were all too happy to discuss the forthcoming cricket world cup which made for a very entertaining evening for me.

The spa was also one of the nicest I have visited, again with great staff.

Ok this hotel is not cheap but in a lot of hotels that are above average in price (and particular the larger chains) you wonder where your money is going. In this place - you know.

If I go back to Bangalore I will certainly be visiting this hotel again and it is just a shame this website does not offer the option to award 6 or 7 out of 5!
Management Response from Andrew_Hendrian
Dear Guest,

Greetings with The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore.

This is with regards to the review posted by you. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests, as it is only through feedback and suggestions like this, that we can enhance our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

We are glad to know that you had experienced a good time with our services. Your comments regarding the room interiors, SPA, staffs and the pillow menu is truly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore and provide you with the same experience you have come to expect from us.

Thanking you,
Andrew Hendrian

Opulence stunning service

from gorgeus1
I had the most fantastic experience in this hotel, I stayed at the "private suite" 5 th floor with private restaurant .
The interiour is of sheer opulance and grandour, I totally loved the room, fantastic beds and the bathroom is stunnig.
The SPA is excellent and do try the ayurveda massages.
Staff was absolutely fantastic (I can only speak for the 5th floor private conciege how went out of their way to organice my rather odd requests)
Do treat youselfs and stay at this stunnig place!

The ambiance is truly splendid. I did not want to leave!

Excellent hotel, pity about noise.

from Cypsi
This must rank as one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, although it is probably more expensive than it merits (the room rates are very high, as are extras like internet access). It is impressively furnished in both the public areas and the bedrooms, and is very very comfortable. The overall level of service and food was very good. If money is not an issue, then stay here and be pampered. It is like an oasis away from the traffic and noise of Bangalore - an escape from the reality of life in the city.

The only reason that this hotel doesn't get five stars from me is that on my last night there, I could hear building work noise, well past midnight. After phoning reception to complain, it stopped, but I'm disappointed that a five star hotel doesn't know how to phase in refurbishment work properly. However, this was the only blemish in what was otherwise a very nice hotel.
Management Response from Andrew_Hendrian
Dear Guest,

Greetings with The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore.

This is with regards to the review posted by you. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests, as it is only through feedback and suggestions like this, that we can enhance our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

We are glad to know that you had experienced a good time with our services. Your comments regarding our room interiors, service and the food are truly appreciated. I also do understand that you experienced a few challenges with our service. Your comments concerning the construction noise has been well noted. This matter has been taken up by me personally with the concerned executives and the entire team. The learning lessons from this experience were shared among the team and effective guidelines communicated to all concerned managers.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore and provide you with the same experience you have come to expect from us.

Thanking you,
Andrew Hendrian

Only if you need to impress people

from twoworlds
I have been coming to the Leela for 4 years and never particularly satisfied. The best thing about it is the beds, which are supremely comfortable. The gym is also the best gym of the majors in Bangalore - however......

I used to pay about $100/night and now the room rate is over $400. This is more than I pay for outstanding hotels in NYC. So expectations are high - and the Leela misses the mark by a long shot. It's not horrible, but it's never great, and it leaves a sour taste in your mouth to get that kind of bill at the end. The service is subpar. The food throughout the hotel is far too expensive, and the rooms and hallways seem to have a permanent musty old damp carpet smell.

Other hotels have surpassed the Leela while it sat happily in its prime spot. I now stay at another hotel chain in B'lore which understands service.

Best Hotel in Bangalore

from rjb01
I have stayed in many of the hotels in Bangalore and have to say that the Leela really is the best. The decor is impressive and the service initially a bit shaky is really personal by the time you leave.

Sure, I have stayed at the hotel a number of times now, but it never fails to impress me that all of the key staff greet me by name every time and remember my favourite drink and what I like for breakfast. That is what I call service..... Yes, it is expensive but not exorbitant when comparing to the other hotels in Bangalore
Management Response from Andrew_Hendrian
Dear Guest,

Greetings with The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore.

This is with regards to the review posted by you. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests, as it is only through feedback and suggestions like this, that we can enhance our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

We are glad to know that you had experienced a good time with our services. Your comments regarding the hotel d├ęcor and our personalized service are truly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore and provide you with the same experience you have come to expect from us.

Thanking you,
Andrew Hendrian

Rip -off - and beware the Noise

from MTL1969
The Leela is a bit of a Disneyland palace- over the top and kitschy. But the rates they charge are really over the top. USD 400 for a room... the other thing is that they are building a new wing and that construction goes on ALL NIGHT. we were with a large group of business travellers and most of us endede up changing rooms at least once. The pool side of the hotel suffers most from this all night building noise. So what was happening is that all new arrivals were put into the noisy side of the hotel. after a night they would complain and moved to rooms on the quiet side, rooms that had been vacated that day by departing guest. which means that the noisy rooms were then free again and would be given to new arrivals... you have been warned. insist on a quiet room when you check in.

I also think it is greedy to charge an extra 20 USD per day for internet access on top of the room rate...

and taking a hotel taxi is even worse- a trip with a hotel car costs 1500 INR, whereas an auto rikshaw would charge 40 INR for the same distance... so support the rickshaw drivers and use them. it will be faster too as they can zip through traffic.

I was also upset that the hotel would not let me return by Rickshaw as they don;t allow them on the premises- even if you are the guest and pay $400 a night for teh privilige of stayinbg there.

Completely overpriced

from A TripAdvisor Member
The hotel is luxurious, with very well appointed rooms. Dining options are limited, but excellent quality. What is disappointing in what would otherwise be an unblemished reference, is how completely overpriced this hotel is. Rooms go for $500+ tax, you can negotiate down to $425+ tax. One would expect that with such rates the airport transfer (barely a mile each way) and breakfast (buffet breakfast is now the norm at all leading hotels in India) would be included, but sadly those too have to be negotiated. And after you've stayed there a week and run up a bill of $5000 including food, if you'v forgotten something they will charge you $5 to send your stuff to your next hotel. This really exemplifies being cheap.

Much better value for money is available at Taj West End and LeMeridian.

The best place if u have money!!

from maccc
Hello

This is the best in Bangalore if u have money to cash out. Otherwise stay away. If u don mind spending, then trust me...theres no other place. The Leela has the best in service and facilities i have seen ... they make u feel like a king. The food and the spa is amazing. Enjoy
Mahesh

Great facilities, not so great service

from matthew.cronin
The Leela is a beautiful hotel, the nicest in Bangalore as I was told by locals (the rickshaw drivers also got a kick out of dropping us off there). The building itself, the grounds, restaurants, pool and the rooms are all gorgeous and top notch. The food is good and there's quite a variety for travelers (mostly business) from all over the world.

Service was definitely not 5-star by western standards and not even close by Asian standards. Hotel staff, while very nice, were seemingly incompetent. It took ages to get served in all of the restaurants and a lifetime at the pool despite requesting a menu or placing an order multiple times. The club level concierge referred me to the main lobby concierge for all my inquiries leaving me to wonder what the club level concierge actually does.

Location is near to most of the major companies doing business in Bangalore and about 10 minutes by rickshaw to the MG/Brigade rd area. I highly recommend the autorickshaws over a car - they can scoot though the traffic much more quickly (but there's no AC and you do inhale a bit of exhaust).

Overall it's a great hotel in a very interesting city. Just don't expect stellar anticipating-your-every-need service and you'll have a great time.
Management Response from Andrew_Hendrian
Dear Guest,

Greetings with The Leela Palace Kempinski Bangalore.

This is with regards to the review posted by you. We do understand that you had to experience some unpleasant incidents at the time of your stay and words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the inconvenience that you faced.

We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests, as it is only through feedback and suggestions like this, that we can enhance our services to meet the expectations of our esteemed guests.

We are glad to know that you had experienced a good time with our services. Your comments regarding rooms, ground and the building are truly appreciated. I also understand that you experienced a few challenges with our service. Your comments concerning the service at the restaurant, pool and the concierge have been well noted. This matter has been taken up by me personally with the concerned executives and the entire team. The learning lessons from this experience were shared among the team and effective guidelines communicated to all concerned managers.

Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you again at the hotel and provide you with positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Thanking you,
Andrew Hendrian

Top Local Tips for Bangalore

Shopping in Bangalore Every driver of any kind of vehicle has a deal going with certain shops, and will insist on taking you to this great shop that is "new" or "special". They can be good shops, don't get me wrong. But just be aware that all drivers get a kickback, and that is how business in done in India. Best know where you want to shop (get advice of Concierge) and insist on going there. Failing that, be prepared to either haggle politely (but hard), and certainly be prepared to walk out. Indian proprietors are polite, but the hardest selling salespersons you will find anywhere. If you are not good at saying NO THANKS, best stick to the "real" Indian shops like Bombay (on MG Road) where the locals shop.

Convenience Very handy for the airport. Just 10 minutes away but no sound of planes.

Go and see Sheva Just along the Airport Road is a huge statue of Sheva. It is breathtaking! Stop and visit if you are in Banglaore - it only takes about 30mins to an hour and it about 30 rupees to visit (45p UK)

(hotels)loading

Other names for The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel

  • leela palace hotel bangalore
  • leela palace bangalore
  • leela hotel bangalore
  • hotel leela bangalore
  • Address: 23, Airport Road - Bangalore - 560 008 - India
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 495 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near The Leela Palace Bangalore A Kempenski Hotel