Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel

, Melbourne, Australia
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Melbourne

Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel

, Melbourne
4 star

Rooms: 130

1 William Street - Melbourne - Victoria - 3000 - Australia Hotel Website | | 03 9296 8888
429 Traveller

Reviews - Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel

Hotel in perfect location - centre of Melbourne
Submitted by: matta in 25/12/10
  • Age Group:
  • From:
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Stayed a long weekend with my wife and daughter and what amazed me the most and what I liked most was the hotel location. We could walk to everywhere, such as the casino, aquarium, shopping and restaurants. I will definately stay at Clarion Suites Gateway hotel again.
They take advantage of their Customers!
Submitted by: Jeff in 04/06/07
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: Singapore
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
Stayed here during the Australian Open. Paid for this via a Travel Agent. Then, to our surprise, the Clairon Suites billed us again, for the full amount of the accommodation ($750!).

They are not reputable; they take advantage of paying, repeat, innocent Clients. NEVER give these people your business!

Historical Traveller Reviews of Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel

fantastic anniversay

from celestial31
My wife and I had our 20th Wedding Anniversary coming up so as we live out of Melbourne we thought a night on the town would be just the thing. Due to the fact that our anniversary occured on the 5th. of Nov. (melb. Cup Eve) we found it difficult to find somewhere worthy of our anniversary celebrations to stay. Then on the web I found the Clarion and booked immediately telling them of our anniversary and asking for a suite with a terrific view if possible. Well they certainly delivered on that as when we arrived they had given us a lovely suite on the 13th floor with a wonderful view over the Yarra River, city skyline and views to the Bay and Dandenong Ranges. We were very impressed, then soon after a bottle of champagne and box of choclates arrived with compliments from management on our anniversay. We did only intend to stay a single night but it was such a terrific room we asked to extend another night.
We were told by Reservations that they didn't think we would be able to with the high demand from people coming for The Cup.
However a short time later they called back to say we could have the room for an extra night. Now that's what I call service!
We had a wonderful stay just walking across the bridge opposite to a terrific array of restaurants along the river bank.
The two nights we stayed there felt like a week, they couldn't do enough for us. We will certainly stay there every time we decide to visit Melbourne and stay over.

Give it a go!

from aussiecruiser
Stayed here this week,in a Riverview King Suite,we were given one on the 6th floor to begin with but i wasn't impressed with the view.The trains ran level with the windows blocking the riverview. I rang down to reception and within minutes we were on the 11th floor.What a difference,great views day and night. The kitchen/room has everything you need and was clean and smoke free. The huge bed had good linen.The bathroom was good except for the shower being over the bath,wouldn't suit an elderly person. i had to be careful.Hope they change this setup next refurbishment. Car park is quite narrow with a few twists and turns, hubby scraped the car once. i think i would return here as it was interesting checking out the view,hadn't stayed in this part of the city before. The windows are all double glazed which kept out most of the noise. The balcony didn't have any furniture on it which was strange. I suppose it might be too noisy to sit out there for an extended time. The staff were spot on at all times. it gets my vote.

Clarion Suites is Superb

from Lenna411
We stayed at this hotel,Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne for 6 nights and enjoyed all aspects of our stay.
Very friendly, helpful staff and greatly appointed large room with a king bed.
We booked a Riverview Studio and the views of the river with the hourly nightly fireball show were spectacular.
There was even a pantry with a small kitchenette in the room.We had the breakfast buffet each day as it was included in our package.It was just great, with second helpings.Dinner was also at a reasonable price with good tasty food.
The rooms were spotless and the location great with walking access to the city and Southbank restaurants.
The free tram was a block away and the free bus just opposite the hotel
We highly recommended this hotel and would stay there again.
The only issue was that the car park was a bit narrow apart from that a great experience.

Great location, great pricing

from kjnielsen206
We booked this hotel through an obscure website back in April. That website was affliliated with There was some confusion when we checked in because the front desk had no record of our reservation though our credit card was charged already. They gave us an apartment like room for the night while they figured it out. That room was quite a lot more expensive than what we paid for. The issue was resolved and Clarion let us stay in the same room so we got an even better deal than originally booked. We could hear the railroad but it was a low rumble and far less jarring than the constant sirens you hear in a US city overnight. Being Australia and a hotel, the food there was outrageous but there was a grocery store nearby so having the kitchen really hurt keep costs down. Its in an excellent location, the city has excellent transportation and downtown Melbourne is quite bustling. This a great place to stay, the staff was very accommodation and its close to everything.

t recommend

from Bek_h
Visited Melbourne for the Grand Prix in March 2007. What we didn’t realise was that the FINA Swimming Competition was on at the same time.

We booked this Hotel as most other places were booked up. We were more than happy when we realised it was across the river from the Crown Entertainment Complex as we had heard this was the place to go.

The hotel was ok priced so we booked a one double bedroom apartment, River view.

When we arrived and went to our room we had a one bedroom apartment, double bed, city view. City View meaning the view is of a complete office block. We couldn’t open the blinds as the thousands of the people in the offices could see directly into our apartment. The balcony was only big enough for one person (as the other half had the air-con unit on it) and when that one person was on it the door couldn’t be shut.
As the room only had a double bed in it, I let me friend have the bed and I slept on the sofa for 4 nights.

We complained to Reception but they didn’t want to know. They were more concerned about looking after the thousand of swimmers that were staying in the hotel.

We tried to book a table for dinner but they were all booked up by the swimmers, and we couldn't use the Internet computers as the swimmers were always on them.

There is a 7 track railway in between the river and the hotel so I doubt the River View Apartments would have been any better.

The reception gave us a map of the area and highlighted the places to go which was nice of them. After all I had paid to stay so they owed us something decent.

My advice would be to stay in St Kilda as this is near the beach and a much nicer area.
Management Response from CSGManagement
Regrettably, the Grand Prix 2007, and the Fina World Championships 2007,took place during the same time.
We did in fact advise all agents/guests that it may prove to be a challenge to provide standard service levels during this time.

As a result of strict security measures, supervised by the State government, we were not in a position to offer all of our guests standard amenities that is normally commensurate within a hotel environment, we do apologies for this inconvenience.
Our hotel is situated in the city and like any other downtown centre we are surrounded by high rises,this cannot be avoided.

However, the benefit of the location is that all tourism amenities including restaurants, cafes entertainment are on our door step, however, should a requirement for a beach side hotel be of importance then we do recommend St Kilda as an alternative to the cities vibrancy.

Hotel Management

Great hotel

from nriemen
Sure, it is not a top of the line hotel but we enjoyed our stay here. The evening we arrived the lobby was full of young high school age kids in gowns and tuxes! The hotel staff was apologetic (it was like their prom night) but it was amusing for us (teachers) to see kids in another country all dressed up for a fun and memorable evening.

We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel as we were out and about all day but the location was great for pubs, supermarkets and alike.

The staf was very friendly and very helpful and more than willing to reconfirm all of our pre arranged activites.

t care about their customers - big ripoff!

from kuching100
I surprised my wife with a trip here for the Australian Open. We paid for it through a sports ticketing (travel) agency, and got an "all-inclusive" package. I paid for that in November.
...then we got another surprise...

Was very surprised to see that Clarion Suites billed my credit card in April for the full amount of the stays there (A$750!). When I protested, they simply said they were not paid by the sports agency, and therefore they had "no choice" but to bill me! This is not my obligation; just because Clarion had my credit card number they took advantage of me. A paying Customer, (and a repeat one) gets the shaft!

I recommend you never ever stay at this hotel. Anyone who treats their Customers in this manner does not deserve your business!

There are a number of other hotels in the area with better operating principles I am sure.
Management Response from CSGMelbourne
The gentleman failed to disclose that the hotel was not paid by the entity that he chose to make his booking.
All potential guest need to exercise caution when buying a package on-line, there are rogue elements in the travel business.
Although, we do sympathize with his predicament, we are required to protect our business and the onus is on "Buyer Be Aware"
It is not in the interest of any business to act without ethics, I would like to think that we have a high standard that forms part of our Mission Statement.
Hotel Management

good location

from RAMY1
Stayed here whilst visiting relatives, was told it was a good central lo cation- which it was, only minor issue was its right next to the main train line so if you ask for a river view expect to see the train lines in front of the river- so not the greatest view. Our apartment was quite large and had washer/dryer and full kitchen which was just what we wanted as we had our little boy of 15mth with us,so a lot more room than a standard double hotel room. Room was clean and decor was no bad, could have been better, but you get what you pay for!! We asked for a parking space but the carpark below the hotel is not owned by the hotel so there are limited spaces- so beware of this and you are also charged for the privillege of using the carpark which we were not told until check-out. We also noticed on checking out that we had been charged for using the phone on 2 occasions,-which we hadnt, so again watch out for added extras on your bill. Overall it suited us with having our young one with us, but dont think I would choose to stay here if it was just myself & hubby. Would rather pay the extra to stay at the Langham Hotel.

The worst hotel ever!

from kristelclarke
Do not stay at this hotel!

It is situated on the river as described, however - it between the hotel and the river is a 7 track railway line that is used for freight - you could not sleep at all :-(

this is no way a 4 * hotel - it is old fashioned and out dated. Breakfast was horrible - flies and birds in the room and hardly any choice.

Room was dirty and smelt. Location good - close to river and crown casinon and aquarium bu there are 7 railways lines in between.

do not stay here!!!

Excellent Value

from graham.wynn
Although perhaps in a slightly "run down"`area of town, the rooms were of an excellent size, very nicely decorated and equipped and regularly cleaned, ideally located and the reception staff were extremely helpful. I would certainly recommend them.

Top Local Tips for Melbourne

Getting ripped off by Clarion Suites Never ever stay at Clarion Suites. They take advantage of paying Customers. There are many other hotels to use in the area.

PUBS There are some nice pubs in the area that are easy to walk to.

Hudsons Coffee Melbourne-centered Hudsons Coffee has got the best cappuccino of any Australian coffee chain and obviously also beats Starbucks.


Other names for Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel

  • melbourne clarion
  • clarion melbourne
  • clarion hotel melbourne
  • Address: 1 William Street - Melbourne - Victoria - 3000 - Australia
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel