Rydges South Bank Hotel

, Brisbane, Australia
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Brisbane

Rydges South Bank Hotel

, Brisbane
4 star

Rooms: 304

9 Glenelg Street South Bank - Brisbane - Queensland - 4101 - Australia Hotel Website | | 61 7 33640800
312 Traveller

Reviews - Rydges South Bank Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Rydges South Bank Hotel


from ozmatt07
Have stayed here a few times in the past couple of years. Excellent location if you have an event on at the Brisbane Convention Centre because you can walk across the courtyard and straight into the hotel & its the only hotel you can do this & after a function or few drinks believe me its very handy!

Have stayed in a few rooms and last year was in the front of the building and the rooms were a bit tired. Stayed in room 209 (but any of the rooms in the 200's) were good, not sure if the hotels been freshened up but the room and inparticular the beds were very comfortable indeed. The wooden furniture still is a bit tired, just from general wear and tear and nothing major.

Business facilities are great, not great for breakfasts but there are places nearby. I would suggest this property for business clients mainly, for families its a bit out of the way but if your stay is only for a quick stopover or a couple of nights then its ok. Southbank and its great beach is close as are some great museums, imax theatere and a lego shop and other things. Its generally a quieter area in Southbank though.

Thanks Lisa.
Management Response from DonGoode
Dear Lisa,

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your stay with us in January . The hotel has completed the refurbishment so upon your next return you should see some nice changes to the in-room environment.

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations regarding breakfast and your feedback has been passed onto our Executive Chef for follow-up and immediate attention.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Brisbane

Kindest Regards
Don Goode
General Manager

Great Location

from J1821
I only stayed here for one night, but if I were to come back for a conference or even a leisure trip, I would most likely stay again (can't say for sure as I wasn't able to take advantage of its location during the day). The staff was very helpful; the room was comfortable, and a very nice size for two people. We took a cab to dinner in the CBD, which didn't cost much. The hotel's location is also great as it's a very short walk from the train station. Sorry I couldn't offer more, but I can say that I'm sure I wouldn't have been disappointed had this been an extended stay.
Management Response from DonGoode
New York, New York, what a great song!

Thankyou for writing your feedback regarding Rydges South Bank especially as it was only an overnight stay.

Your comments have been duly noted and should you return to Brisbane, please do add some additional time (if permitting) and enjoy the sights of South Bank and Brisbane.

Kindest Regards
Don Goode
General Manager

An excellent base

from MissV-MiltonKeynes
The Rydges was a great hotel for our short stay in Brisbane as part of our honeymoon. It was relatively easy to find in the car and with valet parking so you didn't have to worry about where to park (from memory, it was about $9 a day). Receptionists were friendly and quick at check in. The room was very nice; clean and comfortable, had a really nice feel to it. We had a little kitchen area with a microwave, fridge and sink so you could self cater if you wanted. The view from our balcony wasn't very exciting, but a huge plus was how close we were to the southbank park area, about a 5 minute walk just across the road. The park area not just had a park, but scores of restaurants and pools/lagoons, alongside the river, an open air concert hall, open air cinema, weekend market stalls....shall I go on?!! It was a truely fabulous location for young and old. We didn't eat at the hotel at all so I can't comment on food there. One thing to note was that we stayed over a weekend and the restaurants on the southbank seemed to be bookings only, but the concierge can book you into one of them.
I would happily stay here again if we came back to Brisbane central.
Management Response from DonGoode
Dear Miss V from Milton Keynes,

Thanyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is great that you found our hotel the place to base yourself in Brisbane. Our biggest bonus is the walk through the parklands on your way to and from all that Brisbane has to offer.

Its a shame that you didn't get to try our Food whilst you were here, but if your back in Brisbane, please do call in as the food is as good if not better as what South Bank can offer!

Kindest Regards
Don Goode
General Manager

Nice Hotel, But Way Overpriced These Days

from stevie_23
I've stayed in this hotel about 3 times over the years, and have very much liked it. I'm not really even sure exactly why, as it's just a standard hotel room with mini kitchen and open plan living area with the bed and desk in it.

I think it must be the nice balcony overlooking Southbank parklands, the river and the CBD beyond. I definitely have fond memories of that. Also, the niceness of being able to go and see a show at the nearby arts centre, have some dinner, and then just wander back to the hotel is very appealing.

It's also quieter than staying in the middle of the city obviously.

Unfortunately I've not been able to stay here for 3 years however, as the price has just seemed to skyrocket. Whenever I've looked at it for accommodation, it has been about double what I paid in the past and so it is simply not an option for me anymore.

One other thing I also loved was the inclusion at a minimal cost of a huge and delicious buffet breakfast downstairs in the dining room. Absolutely scrumptious!

Again, sadly for me, I can't experience this edible delight anymore though, because of the prices. Last I heard, the breakfast was an extra $50 per person on top of the room charge. It used to be $10 extra! EEP!

Rydges Southbank Not for Tourists

from Worldtraveler094
The Rydges Southbank is not for tourists. No porters at 6:00 PM checkin. Standard rooms small and face 4 tracks of commuter and freight railroad-noisy rail trafic 24 hrs a day. Small beds. No in room safes. Limited range of food service choices-no Ala- Cart bfast menu,only$28/person buffet. Reception desk staff poorly informed re food service choices in neighborhood. One hand towel for 2 people.Second luggage rack not available. Not a 4 star hotel.

great location to have fun in brisvegas

from tlc73
We have stayed at this hotel several times, as it is in a great location to have fun in Brisbane. It is directly opposite Southbank Parklands which are beautiful to walk around or dine at one of the multitude of restaurants. they also have markets on the weekends which get a great atmosphere.
We usually walk over the bridge after dinner and go to the Treasury Casino, which is convenient.
The rooms are flashy but very nice all the same, and if you book a city lights package the view at night from the balcony is fantastic.
we love it here.

Great location - shame about building work!

from Honeymooners70
We stayed here during our honeymoon and we were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms. For a four star hotel the room was small, dark and the bathroom was tiny. The hotel is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment (something we weren't warned about before our visit) and we stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. The refurbishment meant that the gym and spa were out of action. The local swimming pool which Rydges guests are allowed to use was also closed. As compensation for the lack of these facilities we were initially offered a basket of fruit which we felt was inadequate compensation. Only after significant negotiation did we eventually manage to get an upgrade to a junior suite as compensation. Although the suite was more spacious and had fantastic views overlooking the southbank, the bathroom was exactly the same size as the one in the standard room.

On a positive note the location of the hotel is excellent for exploring the many bars and restaurants of the Southbank, and is conveniently located for access to the cbd. The staff were friendly but did seem more interested in the conference guests. One final point - if you do stay here we'd recommend the seafood buffet in the restuarant - excellent value for money.
Management Response from Rydges4101
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the trouble for sending on your feedback further to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank, Brisbane.

This provides me the opportunity to acknowledge your concerns and to provide you with updated developments of our Hotel and facilities.

Firstly, I would like to you to accept my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced due to the current rooms refurbishment programme.

Our programme schedule was on levels one and two at the time of your visit (the last stage of the programme, scheduled for completion end of October, 2007) our gym and spa pool had to be closed for "Occupational Health and Safety" compliance.

Whilst we endeavoured to communicate this when we received direct booking enquiries and also posted advice on our own website www.rydges.com, we unfortunately weren't able to cover all booking channels.

I am pleased to not your approval of the upgrade to one our King Suites as compensation, along with your acknowledgement of our friendly service and our restaurant - "excellent value for money".

I trust we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again. Please feel free to contact me direct online in relation to this response. Assuring you our complete and personal attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Don Goode
General Manager
Rydges South Bank

Definitely stay here!

from EA59
Brisbane raods are a bit of a nightmare, so we did struggle a bit getting to the hotel (the GPS didn't know about all the roadworks). However, once we got there, we were thrilled with the location, the view, the hotel, the room.....

The hotel is opposite the Southbank precinct, it was really easy to wander out and get a range of inexpensive (or expensive if you desired!) and good foods to eat. Picture theatres nearby, coffee shops, newsagents etc. Commuter and tourist ferries were nearby; buses ditto. It was about a 10 minute walk along the river then across the bridge to get to the edge of the city center where there were shops, the casino, lots of public transport.

The hotel room was lovely, with a balcony looking out over Southbank and the river. Very quiet rooms, we didn't hear all the traffic unless the balcony door was open. The only noise which bothered us was from some conference delegates who seemed to be roomhopping, and banging doors constantly in the late evening (auto-closing doors which really did BANG shut). The bathroom was spotless, with a selection of complimentary toiletries. Bed was quite comfortable. Basically, the room was great. Could have done with some better tourist information on hand, but the staff were a great help.

Restaurants were a bit pricey, but we didn't eat there because of the number of places nearby. Car parking was a bit exy at $20 a day, but I guess that's inner city parking! Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.


from EasyNote
Its got to be said that this hotel is in an excellent location in which to discover Brisbane. We were half way through a round the world trip when we stayed here and had stayed in some fantastic hotels up to this point.....suffice to say we were NOT disssapointed. This is a good hotel with good rooms and freindly staff. However the big plus point for this hotel must be its location, near to good restaurants and excellent bars. Its a great walk through the 'South Bank' along the river and into the city centre from the hotel. Really enjoyable stay.

Excellent location but poor rooms

from KG-7
Hotel proved to be in an excellent position, very close to all the attractions of the Southbank and a 20 minute walk from city centre.
Our bedroom was poor, located on 1st floor and with very little daylight. There was no ironing board, and despite requests it took around 4 hours to be delivered - and then with torn covers. The iron itself just about reached lukewarm and could still be touched by hand.
Breakfast was average.
Being close to the convention centre it appears to be mainly catering for business clients who no doubt have the pick of the rooms.

Top Local Tips for Brisbane

Good day out to theme parks You can get the hotel staff to book theme park trips for you. These will pick you up by coach at the hoteol and take you straight to the Parks. A good day out!

Getting around Leave the car in the garage and public transport it! The gridlock in Brisbane is amazing, even in comparison to Melbourne. The traffic just sits and goes nowhere. We were walking faster than most people were driving!

Research Do your own research, and plan your trip before going, do not rely on hotel concierge, not at the rydges anyway.


Other names for Rydges South Bank Hotel

  • rydges south bank hotel brisbane
  • brisbane rydges south bank
  • Address: 9 Glenelg Street South Bank - Brisbane - Queensland - 4101 - Australia
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 312 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Rydges South Bank Hotel