Rydges North Sydney Hotel

, Sydney, Australia
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Sydney

Rydges North Sydney Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 166

54 Mclaren Street North Sydney - Sydney - New South Wales - 2060 - Australia Hotel Website | | 61 2 99221311
156 Traveller

Reviews - Rydges North Sydney Hotel

Terrible Service
Submitted by: Nesh in 19/02/09
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: Australia
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
We were booked to stay for 4 days, there was a terrible smell so we left early. we forgot my g.fs top and they refused to return it, we called a number of times noone ever called back to us, we were even told once that they will check but they left the phone off the hook and we heard them laughing. terrible would never stay there again, television has terrible reception.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Rydges North Sydney Hotel

Genuine 1970s theme

from pommie01
I have stayed here dozens of times - really only because of it's location - it's very close to my Sydney office.

But really everything about this place is very "variable"...

- The quality of the decor in the rooms varies - depending on if/how recently the room was upgraded.
- The quality of the service is variable - the wake-up call doesn't always happen.Good luck using the bedside in-built clock radio - the thing is so old that the labels on the buttons have worn off !
- The aircon is variable - sometimes it works well and is quite - sometimes it doesn't work well, sometimes it sounds like the space shuttle in launching in your room.
- TV - a couple of times my TV wouldn't turn off at all !
- Breakfast - you are forced to choose if you want the full greasy buffet or the "continental" buffet before you sit down ! Which means you can't look at the quality of the cooked food to see if you fancy it or not.
- In heavy rain - I have seen the staff collecting water in buckets in the lobby.
- I'm not sure how breakfast bread can be that stale....

There have been some recent attempts to update this place - the lifts have been done up (probably about 15 years too late) - they upgraded some of the restaurant area.... but it's all still a bit 1970s "brown".....

Still there is one thing - it can be pretty cheap...

Average All Round

from ME13
I needed a room at the last minute due to an over-run business meeting. I made my booking over the phone, which they didn't seem to be over pleased to take at such short notice. (8pm reservation for a midnight check-in). At check-in (and indeed at check-out the following morning) the staff seemed so sleepy I wonder if they'd been in the same series of meetings as I had been in... The rooms were a good size and the bed comfortable. The bathroom had seen better days - it wasn't dirty, but seemed a little tired. Location was okay - if you want to be in the heart of North Sydney there are better options, but as it was tucked away in a residential street it was very quiet. I've stayed in better properties in North Sydney, but it was perfectly functional and no nonsense.
Management Response from ManagerWorldSquare
Dear Valued Guest,

Rydges North Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to place information about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed the size of your room and the hotels new “Dream Beds”. Rydges North Sydney is currently going through a refurbishment of which further work will be completed on all guest rooms and in particular the guest bathrooms. Please do not hesitate to contact me in relation to this response.

Kind Regards
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Check Your Bill...

from TelcomTraveller
Upon arrival I was informed that no one was able to help me with my bags as there was no porter at the hotel. Once I made several trips with bags I then had to empty the balcony of cigarette filled beer bottles that was producing a crusty bars carpet smell.
The room was very poorly maintained black mould in the bathroom, TV remote not working and internet was incredibly slow. Whilst staying at the hotel I had no further problems. The problems started when I was leaving.
Trying to get the receptionist to call a taxi was a joke, she made me wait for 10mins at the desk while she was sorting out her papers but was quite happy to answer the phone, the fourth time the phone rang I had so shout for her to take notice of me. My bill had several additional internet connections charges and also two bottles of whisky, as I don’t drink whisky I new that this was a mistake. However the hotel apologised and changed the bill. Little did I know that they actually charged me three times for the cost of the hotel! Yes I was charged just under AUS $5500.00 for a weeks stay at this hotel.
Management Response from ManagerWorldSquare
Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly, please let me say thank you for me to send through a management response to your feedback on Rydges North Sydney. It is through the observations of our guests that we become aware of issues that would go unnoticed and therefore uncorrected. Once again, thank you for your comments, guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort caused. I would like to ensure you that your comments in regards to the service of the front office staff have been passed along to our Front Office Manager and have since been rectified.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in relation to this response.

Tish Nyar
General Manager

t recommend this Hotel

from FemaleTravellerUK
I stayed here for work over the weekend of the 9/10 December. I was treated well by the reception staff on the Friday night who were lovely and couldn't do more to make my check in easier.

My room was terrible, the bathroom had mould above the shower and when i asked to move room i was told i couldn't as they were fully booked.

On the saturday i asked reception where i would be able to find a pharmacy or something similar as i had burnt my shoulder and the young girl there looked at me like i was the biggest imposition on her day! i was told to "go to the mall which is a 10 minute walk over there" She actually said to me 10 minute walk over there, like that was a proper direction! When i asked her to clarify she walked off into the office leaving me stood there like an idiot! i went for a 10 minute walk in the 3 directions available and couldn't find a mall!

The room service was excellent, there was plenty of food and a good choice. the people serving it were also very pleasant.

In whole the room and the one reception member made this a terrible stay but if i hadn't asked for directions i probably would have said the hotel was basic but ok.
Management Response from ManagerWorldSquare
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. Here at Rydges North Sydney we pride ourselves on customer service so I was upset to read that our reception team were not friendly on this occasion. The team member who was on during your stay has been spoken to in regards to your issue.
I wanted to take this opportunity to point out some changes and some recent developments to the hotel. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program. We are doing upgrade work on our elevators, accommodation rooms and bathrooms. This upgrade includes new beds, sheets, desks, lighting, room accessories and bathroom accessories including new towels, tap ware, showerheads and bathroom amenities. As well as our Lobby, Restaurant and Bar, which was completed in late 2005, this next stage in development is due to be completed early 2007.
Once again, thank you for your feedback on the hotel and I wish you well on your future travels.

Tish Nyar
General Manager

Absolutly hated it.

from sWorldtour0607
I booked a 3 person room for 4 nights. The room had only 2 cups 2 plates 2 towels etc. Chocolates I paid for were never delivered. At checkin I was quoted $220 a night including breakfast. At checkout was charged $230 a night pls $19.00 each for breakfast each day. managment was firm and said i was wrong eventhough i had it in wrtiting from them I was still overcharged by $310.00. Rooms are very dated, only one lift was working so had to wait for a long time every time. Very noisy function room til late as the rooms are not sound proof. Air con was not cold nor hot it just blew air and that was it. No air port shuttle on the weekend as "we don't have the staff". Very poor quality throughout. I recommend not to stay there.
Management Response from ManagerWorldSquare
Dear Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to come onto tripadvisor.com and advise of your stay at Rydges North Sydney. Regarding your comments on the payment and inclusions of your account; this has been discussed with you in July and therefore the hotel is not in a position to advise others of the conversation we had personally. However I would like to take this opportunity to discuss your further comments and the refurbishment program now in place at Rydges North Sydney.

Refurbishment on the hotel started in June 2006, with the re-fit of our guests’ lifts. During this period one guest lift at a time was out of service for a short period, with access available through one guest lift plus the staff service lift. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience over this period.

Due to our location, the hotel cannot offer a shuttle service to the airport, however this service can be arranged through a third party company on request. The hotel itself does have a shuttle service, however this is utilized weekday mornings that takes guests to their workplaces in a 5km radius of the hotel.

I would like to ensure you that your comments in regards to the air conditioner had been passed along to our Maintenance Manager and have since been looked into. This has been part of our refurbishment program, which is to be completed in early 2007. This a significant improvement which includes new beds, linen, desk, chairs, lighting, sofa beds, bathroom accessories and freshly painted rooms and corridors.

Thank you Wayne, I hope we are able to welcome you back to Rydges North Sydney when next in Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Tish Nyar
General Manager

A dump

from A TripAdvisor Member
This hotel is a shocker. Rundown and shabby. I stayed here two nights over the New Year's period (only because it was the only reasonable hotel available a few weeks out from NY eve.) You had to book a two night minimum and the rates were much more than normally charged. A complete rip-off at more than $250 a night. Bathrooms were rundown and grimy. One of the elevators was out of service throughout the period I stayed. (You could take the beaten-up and very dodgy staff elevator.) The air conditioning was non-existent, on one of the hottest weekends in Sydney (temps of more than 40-degrees). If you like Rydges, try the Jamieson in the CBD - otherwise, give this one a wide berth!


from A TripAdvisor Member
We were married at the rydges hotel in North Sydney, and my husband, my guests and myself, were all blown away with the exception service and quality provided.
The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that our wedding day was perfect. the bridal suite was spacious and clean with a magnificent view of sydney harbour.
the meals were exceptional,and the staff were friendly, caring, courtious and professional.
We could not have asked for a better or more beautiful place to hold our special day.
We recommend Rydges NTH Sydney to anyone.
Management Response from ManagerWorldSquare
Dear Newlyweds,

Thank you for taking the time to place your impressions and experience of your wedding on trip advisor. It was a pleasure to be part of your special day.
It was great to hear your complimentary comments regarding the service you received. Please be assured that your comments have been relayed to both management and the events team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges North Sydney.

Tish Nyar
General Manager

Give this one a miss

from Aussietraveller25
My partner and I stayed here for a romantic weekend in Sydney, and we were both disappointed with the standard of the hotel. The reception area was tired looking, and the lifts were old and small. For a 'newly refurbished' hotel, the first impression was not positive.

Our bedroom was well sized, but the carpet, bedding and bathroom were old and worn. The bath/shower was mouldy - I certainly was not willing to let more than my feet touch the surface.

The view out of the window was pleasant (overlooking Sydney harbour), but when I tried to open the window the frame broke off.

Also beware that if you are intending on staying either Saturday or Sunday, there are very few cafes/shops within walking distance as most of the area shuts down on the weekend. The train station is a bit of a walk through the hills.

There were some positive points to our stay - the view as mentioned was impressive, roomservice meals were generous and tasty, and the price for Sydney accommodation is very reasonable.

Disappointing Room

from A TripAdvisor Member
We booked to stay at the North Rydges Hotel for New Year 2004. This was our first time to Sydney and I looked everywhere for suitable accommodation to accomodate my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 Children). the hotels website details 'newly refurbished 2 bedroom suites suitable for families and meetings', looking at the details this seemed ideal and I booked it back in March 2004. In November we received a fax saying that we would have to pay in advance because it was New Year, we duly provided our credit card details so no to lose the booking. We arrived on the 28th Dec 04 for our 5 days and when we arrived I could not believe the depressing and tatty room that we were given. Can you imagine our dismay we've had to pay in advance so no way could we afford to pay for another hotel, and contemplate finding somewhere to fit 5 people of New Year at such a late stage.

The bathroom was a disgrace, cupboards falling down, mildew and mould in the shower cubicle, the waste pipe from the toilet was disgusting, the whole room was shabby and in desperate need of a facelift!!!! We even had an ex residents old trainers festering in the wardrobe.
I can't believe that the website actually advertises 'newly refurbished'! a complete fabrication .I complained to the front desk and asked had i been given the worst room in the hotel where I was told that this was a business hotel and the 'refurbishment' was 18months previously, my guess more like 2 years or more ago. However we were offered full breakfast for the whole family for our stay, but this no mean compensated us for the cost of the accomodation and the condition it was offered to us. We have since written to the Rydges with pictures of the unacceptable bathroom and facilites but as yet have not heard anything. I certainly couldn't recommend this hotel, it was seriously over priced and over rated and tarnished our view of Sydney.

Yours sincerely
The Jones Family
Cheshire UK Dec 2004

Worst Experience

from A TripAdvisor Member
Worst experience ever at this hotel. It was our Anniversary the hotel had a package for 1 nights accomodation, a cruise, and breakfast the next morning. We arrived at the hotel checked in went up to our room which was meant to be harbour views (with high rise units blocks in the way there wasn't much of a view) went into city for the cruise but was informed we weren't even booked on the boat the hotel forgot to book us in the cruise was fully booked they couldn't even squeeze us on the boat went back to the hotel checked out because we refused to stay there after all this had happened and the fact that it was our Anniversary and we went home which was about 11pm when we left the hotel our night was ruined it was too late to go anywhere couldn't even go to dinner .
Now we have to re-book for another weekend but it wont be the same as we wanted to celebrate it on the actual day, so If you are wanting to stay at a Rydges Hotel I recommend trying Rydges Jamison in the city they have some great reviews thats where we will be staying next time it was actually our first choice to start with but they were booked out so we chose North Sydney in stead or if anyone has any suggestions of a hotel they have had a great experience at Please post it on the reviews and let us know so we aren't disappointed for the second time round.

Top Local Tips for Sydney

Research Trackwork Check the internet and find out what city rail is doing before choosing a location.

Walk, walk, walk! Sydney is a very walkable city. We spend some time on the bus, some time on the ferries, but mostly walked. The weather is usually very good, the city safe, and it's full of parks.

Walk, walk, walk! Sydney is a very walkable city. We spend some time on the bus, some time on the ferries, but mostly walked. The weather is usually very good, the city safe, and it's full of parks.


Other names for Rydges North Sydney Hotel

  • sydney rydges north hotel
  • rydges north hotel sydney
  • Address: 54 Mclaren Street North Sydney - Sydney - New South Wales - 2060 - Australia
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 156 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Rydges North Sydney Hotel